Posts Tagged ‘guides’

VRC Faculty Workshop Materials

Wednesday, August 26th, 2009

For those unable to attend the faculty workshop, we’re making available some documents that should help you get started using the Visual Resources Collection.

Stay tuned for future faculty workshop dates later in the Fall ’09 semester and instructional videos–they’ll be announced here.

VRC Faculty Workshop Slides

VRC Faculty Workshop Handout

Visual Resources + Flickr (Part I)

Tuesday, May 26th, 2009

Did you know you can search and add images from Flickr into your Visual Resources Collection media groups? Flickr is a rich resource with millions of images to choose from, ranging graphic design to scientific imaging to historical artifacts. Or perhaps you have your own Flickr account? You can use your Flickr account as a quick way to load your own images into your Luna presentations.

3-Easy Steps: Accessing Your Flickr Account in Luna

1) After logging in or creating an account,  under the “Explore” tab, select “External Media Search”

luna-flickr1

2) Under the username search field, simply enter your Flickr account username and select search…easy.

luna-flickr2

3) Find the images you’d like to incorporate into your presentations, and add them to your default media group by clicking the icon in the upper-left corner.

luna-flickr3

Alternatively, you can use the username search to find the collections of participants in the Flickr Commons, a collection of unknown or out of copyright images from libraries and archives across the world.

luna-flickr4

Quick Guide to Digital Collections@WSU

Wednesday, May 6th, 2009

With the release of a brand-new library website, we’ve worked hard to create a new face for the Library System’s digital collections.  We’ve added tons of new content, so here is a guide to bring you up to speed:

  • Added pages that highlight both past and current projects, past project pages include project information that might be helpful for those pursuing similar types of projects.
  • Developed a list of web-resources for the library community and those interested in digital projects covering topics like copyright, metadata, imaging, and preservation.  This list will continue to grow and you can keep in touch with it by subscription.
  • We’re working on developing tutorials for our Visual Resources Collection.
  • Obviously, we’ve added a Digital Collections Blog that will serve as a place to get news and updates, tips, and read about interesting items in our digital collections from a number of librarian’s that work with the collections.  Subscribe or bookmark us to stay in touch with what we’re doing and perhaps pick up a thing or two that will help your research.

We welcome feedback and input on what you’d like to see here in the future.  Just send a note to Jon McGlone.