WSU Libraries

Article Databases

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z # all
Databases remotely accessible to retired faculty
72
showing
of
483
databases
  • Abstracts in social gerontology (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Abstracts in Social Gerontology includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to social gerontology, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
  • AccessAnesthesiology (McGraw Hill) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty In AccessAnesthesiology, physicians and residents can access a compendium of medical resources, including exclusive procedural videos, Custom Curriculum, and power search functionality, blended seamlessly with tables and charts designed for quick reference. Backed by an esteemed advisory board, AccessAnesthesiology offers multiple tools for resident education and certification/recertification in pain managements, critical care, and perioperative medicine.
  • America: history and life (EbscoHost) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Online version of: America: history and life. Includes full-text of hundreds of journals originally published in paper.
  • American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (EbscoHost) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty American Bibliography of Slavic & Eastern European Studies (ABSEES), produced by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. Coverage for ABSEES ranges from 1990-present.
  • American periodicals series online, 1740-1900 (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Consists of digitized reproductions of more than 1,100 eighteenth and nineteenth century newspapers and periodicals in the original microfilm reproduction series, American periodical series, I, II, and III. When completed in 2003, this database will have more than 7,000,000 pages of full text periodicals.
  • Art bibliographies modern (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Modern and contemporary art, photography and design
  • British humanities index (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty An international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities.
  • Chicago Tribune Historical Full-Text (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty The Chicago Tribune (1849-1986) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
  • Chicago Tribune. (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty The Chicago Tribune keeps readers informed of the latest news from the Chicago area, the nation and the world every day. The Tribune has a reputation for investigative and public service journalism earning 24 Pulitzer Prizes since 1932. Comprehensive coverage back to 1985.
  • CINAHL Complete (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty CINAHL Complete is a comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index – with no embargo. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
  • Communication and Mass Media Complete (EbscoHost) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Communication & Mass Media Complete provides quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for over 390 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of 200 more, for a combined coverage of nearly 600 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for 285 journals.
  • Criminal Justice Periodicals (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty With a focus on U.S. and international criminal justice journals, providing research support for students interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law and industrial security.
  • Detroit Free Press Historical Full-Text (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Detroit Free Press offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
  • Digital Sanborn Maps (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970. Michigan Only. The Sanborn Map Company was the primary American publisher of fire maps for over 100 years, repeatedly mapping towns and cities as they changed. The maps provide a wealth of information, such as building outline, size and shape, construction materials, height, building use, windows and doors, street and sidewalk widths, boundaries, house numbers, and more for cities mapped in the state of Michigan.
  • Dissertations and theses - full text (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. UMI offers over 1.8 million titles for purchase in microfilm or paper formats. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download.
  • Early English Books Online (Proquest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
  • EconLit (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Comprehensive index to the world's economic literature (over 300 major economic journals) compiled by the American Economic Association
  • EEBO. (Proquest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
  • Engineering Research Database (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty This database contains an index to world literature on technological and engineering innovations and includes US patents back to 1971.
  • Engineering village 2 Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Provides access to bibliographic databases of engineering research literature, including Compendex, as well as to patents, standards and handbooks.
  • ERIC (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Both journals provide access to some 14,000 documents and over 20,000 journal articles per year.
  • Family studies abstracts (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Family Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
  • GeoREF (Proquest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Covering the geology of North America from 1785 and that of the rest of the world from 1933. Topics covered include geophysics and structural geology, economic geology, minerals and petroleum, palaeontology and stratigraphy, engineering and environmental geology, geomorphology, soils and quaternary geology, igneous and metamorphic petrology, hydrogeology, geochemistry, aerial geology and maps.
  • Historical abstracts (EbscoHost) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present. Coverage is identical to the expanded edition of the CD-ROM version.
  • Historical Chicago Tribune (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty The Chicago Tribune (1849-1986) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
  • Historical Detroit Free Press (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty ProQuest Historical Newspapers Detroit Free Press (1831-1922) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
  • Historical Los Angeles Times (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty The Los Angeles Times (1881-1986) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
  • Historical New York Times. (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty The New York Times (1851-2006) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
  • Historical Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty The Wall Street Journal (1889-1991) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
  • Historical Washington Post (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty The Washington Post (1877-1992) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
  • JSTOR (Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, IX, X and XI Collections) (JSTOR) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. WSU currently subscribes to the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VII, IX, X and XI Collections.
  • Library & information science abstracts (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Abstracts of the world's literature in librarianship, information science and related disciplines.
  • Library Press Display Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Over 250 same-day newspapers from 55 countries in their original format. Backfile includes last 60 days.
  • Library, information science & technology abstracts (EbscoHost) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts,(LISTA) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
  • Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty LINGUISTICS AND LANGUAGE BEHAVIOR ABSTRACTS, LLBA (online) provides selective access to the world's literature on language and language behavior. Corresponds to the printed index of the same name.
  • LISA: Library information science abstracts (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Abstracts of the world's literature in librarianship, information science and related disciplines.
  • Los Angeles Times (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so you have access to not only top news stories but also detailed information on the arts, sports, business, and popular culture. Even such items as editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor from well know people are indexed.
  • Los Angeles Times Historical Full-Text (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty The Los Angeles Times (1881-1990) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
  • Medline/PubMed (NLM) (NLM) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty PubMed is a project developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH)--Overview. NLM's search service to access the 9 million citations in MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (with links to participating on-line journals), and other related databases --Home page.
  • Mental Measurements Yearbook (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY), produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. The MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. The MMY database provides coverage from Volume 9 to the present.
  • Michigan digital Sanborn maps (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Digital Sanborn® Maps, 1867-1970™ Michigan Only. Sanborn® fire insurance maps are detailed property and land-use records covering more than 12,000 U.S. towns and cities. Founded in 1867 by D. A. Sanborn, the Sanborn Map Company was the primary American publisher of fire maps for over 100 years, repeatedly mapping towns and cities as they changed. The maps provide a wealth of information, such as building outline, size and shape, construction materials, height, building use, windows and doors, street and sidewalk widths, boundaries, house numbers, and more.
  • MLA bibliography (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty MLA BIBLIOGRAPHY (online) is the largest and most comprehensive database covering current scholarship in the modern languages, literatures, and folklore. MLA BIBLIOGRAPHY (online) corresponds to the printed annual bibliography of the Modern Language Association.
  • New York Times (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Full-text coverage of the US newspaper of record. Offers superb coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts.
  • New York Times Historical Full-Text (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty The New York Times (1851-2006) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
  • Newspapers-Library Press Display Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Over 250 same-day newspapers from 55 countries in their original format. Backfile includes last 60 days.
  • NTIS Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty The NTIS database consists of unclassified U.S. government-sponsored research, development, and engineering reports. An increasing proportion of the database consists of unpublished material originating outside the U.S. from Western Europe and Japan. The database corresponds to several printed publications, including Government Reports Announcements & Index.
  • PAIS International (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Formerly PAIS Decade, this database provides indexing and abstracting of articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs.
  • Peace research abstracts (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Peace Research Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
  • Philosopher's Index (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Provides indexing and abstracts from books and over 270 journals on philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields published in the U.S. and the Western World. Coverage is from 1940 to the present for U.S. materials, and 1967 to the present for non-U.S. references.
  • Physical Education Index (Proquest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Records are indexed and classified from peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, articles from the popular press, and many other publications. Coverage includes physical education curricula, sports medicine, dance, sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology.
  • PILOTS: Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty The PILOTS database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, and includes citations to literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health issues results from traumatic events, for populations ranging from children to adults.
  • Proquest Dissertations and theses (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. UMI offers over 1.8 million titles for purchase in microfilm or paper formats. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download.
  • ProQuest Research Library (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Includes citations and articles - many full text - on a broad range of topics including arts, business, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests from a mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
  • PsycArticles (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Provides full text access to articles from journals published by APA and allied organizations. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
  • PsycINFO (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
  • Public Administration Abstracts Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Public Administration Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to public administration, including public administration research, public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
  • Public Affairs Information Service International (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Formerly PAIS Decade, this database provides indexing and abstracting of articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs.
  • PubMed@Wayne (NLM) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty PubMed is a project developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH)--Overview. NLM's search service to access the 9 million citations in MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (with links to participating on-line journals), and other related databases --Home page.
  • Race Relations Abstracts (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Race Relations Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
  • Reaxys Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Reaxys provides access to the Beilstein, Gmelin and Patent Chemistry Databases and includes extensive coverage of authoritative information in organic, inorganic and organometallic chemistry.
  • RILM abstracts of music literature (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Over 200,000 citations on international music corresponding to the printed RILM Abstracts of Music Literature. This file is produced by the Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale. It includes all data from the RILM printed year 1969 to the present.
  • ScienceDirect (Elsevier) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty A Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts and the full text of more than 1000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.
  • Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,406 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
  • Social work abstracts (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Social Work Abstracts database contains more than 26,000 records, spanning 1977 to the present, from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more.
  • Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,809 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added since 1963 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
  • Tests in Print (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). Now a part of Mental Measurements Yearbook.
  • Urban studies abstracts (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
  • Wall Street Journal (current) (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Access to current editions of the Wall Street Journal. 1984 to present. Pre-194 access is available from the Wall Street Journal Historical edition.
  • Wall Street Journal Historical Full-Text (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
  • Washington Post (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Full-text coverage of the US newspaper of record. Offers superb coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts. Coverage of national, international, and local news. The Washington Post is renowned for its political reporting, editorials and columnists.
  • Washington Post Historical Full-Text (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty The Washington Post (1877-1997) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
  • Worldwide political science abstracts (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty The database provides access to citations and abstracts of journal articles appearing political science journals. Years of Coverage: 1975 to the present.

WSU Libraries
3100 David Adamany Undergraduate Library
5155 Gullen Mall
Detroit, MI USA 48202
(313) 577-4023 / 5525 - fax