![]() |
| Last modified: Jul 29, 2005 | |
| Site Index | Search This Site |
BUREAU OF THE CENSUS HISTORICAL HIGHLIGHTS
QUESTIONNAIRE / LOCAL GEOGRAPHY
CENSUS 2000 PLANS Committee on National Statistics
Census Issuses for Detroit
Bibliography
Database is only accessible at the Purdy/Kresge Library
Research Support Center GPO Access Computer
1990 Census Summary Tape File 1 (STF1D) and 3 (STF3D)
100% count and sample data for all districts of the 105th Congress
- Congressional Districts of the 105th Congress From the U.S. Census Bureau American FactFinder--not elsewhere on the Internet.
User Friendly Guide from University of Michigan Documents Center (Grace York) Choose Facts About My Community, Browse Geography, Expand Geographic Level by Clicking on + sign, Click on Plus sign of Congressional District within State, Select one of 5 profiles.
- 1990 Census Summary Tape File 1 (STF1)
100% count: BASIC DEMOGRAPHIC VARIABLES
Social Workers note:
Counts of grandchildren in households and counts of the homeless are in SFT1A, files P15 and P28 respectively.
- STF1A
Detailed geography: County, place, tract, etc. STF1B
Block Statistics - STF1C
Nation and state totals. Not all tables are available.
- 1990 Census Summary Tape File 3 (STF3)
Sample count: SOCIOECONOMIC AND DEMOGRAPHIC VARIABLES
- STF3A
Detailed geography: County, place, tract, etc.
All state CD-ROMs also available
- STF3B
Zip Codes - STF3C
Nation and state totals, Metropolitian Statistical Areas (MSAs) - 1980 Census
- Other Census Related Products
- American FactFinder
User Friendly Guide from University of Michigan Documents Center (Grace York) Choose Facts About My Community, Browse Geography, Expand Geographic Level by Clicking on + sign, Click on Plus sign of Geographic Level within State, Select one of 5 profiles. American Community Survey
Provides communities demographic, economic, housing, and social characteristics updates every year. Examples of the data include: age, race, household composition, veteran's status, poverty and income, and commuting patterns. More information about this survey is at U.S. Census Bureau - CensusCD Blocks
Contains a complete set of data and maps, for 7 Million US census blocks. Includes all Census Bureau population and housing data, 100% detailed TIGER block boundaries and many value-added items such as block to ZIP projections. A sophisticated reporting engine with SQL-like filtering, and thematic mapping software are included. - CensusCD+Maps
50 gigabytes of US demographic data (1790-2002) and geographic boundaries, with estimates, projections, consumer expenditure, time series, historical data, as well as a complete set of 1990 Census data. Library Journal calls it a "MUST BUY". USA Today places it on its reviewers' recommended list of software. And Business Geographics' lists "Weaknesses: None". - CensusCD 1980
Time series analysis on areas as small as a Census Tract, can now be done with over 1,500 variables. Mapping software and boundaries for 1980 tracts, counties, states, places, and MCD, are included. - CenStats
- Annual Survey of Manufactures
- Building Permits
- Census Tract Street Locator
- Type in your address to connect to the profile of your census tract!
- Consolidated Federal Funds Report
- County Business Patterns
- International Trade Data
- Occupation by Race and Sex
- USA Counties
- Zip Business Patterns
- Earnings by Occupation and Education
Employment and earnings for 514 occupations by sex, race, age, and education for the nation, states, and MSAs. - Economic Censuses See Statistical Data Online Economic Censuses
- Equal Employment Opportunity File
Provides occupation distribution and educational attainment data by sex, race, and Hispanic origin for states, counties, and places of 50,000+. - School District Data Book
Social, financial and administrative data for each of the 15,274 school districts in the United States for 1989-1990. - SEMCOG
Population estimates for every county and community in Southeast Michigan - Street CD
Over 100 layers of high quality map data from the latest TIGER97. 11 million streets for geocoding, routing, and mapping. 2 million landmark points. Boundaries in both high and low resolution, with and without water clipping. Export to both Arcview Shape, and MapInfo MID/MIF formats. - Thematic Maps (ESRI)
Selected 1990 census variables for any state - TIGER Map Server Browser
Search for a U.S. city or town, browse the Tiger Map of the area, and lookup 1990 Census STF1A, STF3A tables. - TIGER/Line 1997 files to ftp (Univ. of California Berkeley)
- U.S.A. Counties
100% and sample census data as well as adminsitrative records data for nation, states, and counties. Community 2020 HUD Community Planning Software
Includes Maptitude, a geographic information system with which to make maps and perform anaylysis with your own data, imported data from other software packages, and data supplied on the CD-ROM. HUD promotional material and a User Guide are available. LandView III
Includes MARPLOT to view maps and Landview III databases on census data, air facilities, hazardous waste facilities, Superfund NPL sites, Superfund non-NPL sites, past Superfund sites that require no further action, Toxic Release Inventory facilities, and waste water discharge facilities. A tutorial can be viewed at Landview III Tutorial - Geneological Research, the Census and Confidentiality
- Schedules of Populations 1790-1920 can be found at the Federal Population Censuses Catalogs of NARA Microfilm. This publication provides a general introduction to the content of the schedules, arrangement, and use (including the use of the SOUNDEX index), use of the microfilm for genealogical research, and roll numbers for the SOUNDEX name index and to the microfilm of the schedules. To obtain copies of the microfilm, contact Product Development and Distribution (NWCP), National Archives, Washington, DC 20408. The telephone number is 1-800-234-8861.
- All primary census records since 1790 are on NARA microfilm, with two major exceptions:
- The 1890 census, most of which was lost in a 1921 fire at the old Commerce Department building in Washington; and
- Certain records from the 1790-1810 period lost when British troops burned the city in 1814.
- Computer data from 1960-1990 was obtained by optical scanning microfilm.
- Individual census information is restricted from release under USC Title 13 for 72 years; therefore the 1920 Census information has been available only since 1992 and individual names from 1930 to date are not available.
- 1790-1920 Census schedules should be available at numerous libraries with genealogical microfilm collections (public and those run by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints), regional archives facilities of NARA, in addition to the main National Archives Building in Washington, DC.
- Fort Wayne Indiana Public Library has perhaps the 3rd largest collection of census materials, family newsletters, etc. in the country.
(govdoc-l,Ted Hull and others, Sept. 9, 1999)