WSU Libraries

Subject Guide on Children's Literature


Electronic Indexes and Abstracts

Over 100 leading periodicals in library and information science. Most articles available in full-text.

Full-Text Databases

Over 100 leading periodicals in library and information science. Most articles available in full-text.
Multidisciplinary database with some periodicals on children's literature
Multi-disciplinary, entirely full-text database

Print Resources - Indexes and Abstracts

Children's Book Review Index
Purdy/Kresge Library Indexes, Z1307.C5446
Children's Literature Abstracts
Purdy/Kresge Library Indexes, Z1307.C5446
Children's Literature Review
Purdy/Kresge Library Indexes, PN 1009.A1 C5139
Curriculum Review
Purdy/Kresge Library Indexes, LB3045.C8
Education Index
Purdy/Kresge Library Indexes, Z5813.C8
Library Literature
Purdy/Kresge Library Indexes, Z666.L48
Something About the Author
Purdy/Kresge Library Indexes, PN451.S6
Something About the Author Autobiography Series
Purdy/Kresge Library Indexes, PN497.S66

Print Resources - Guides and Catalogs

A to Zoo
Purdy/Kresge Reference Desk, Z1037.L715 2001
Children's Books in Print
Purdy/Kresge Reserves Desk, Z1037.A1C482
Children's Books in Print - Subject Guide
Purdy/Kresge Reserves Desk, Z1037.A1C483
Children's Catalog
Purdy/Kresge Reserves Desk, Z1037.W76
Elementary School Library Catalog
Purdy/Kresge Reserves Desk, Z1037.E4 1998
Junior High School Library Catalog
Purdy/Kresge Reserves Desk, Z1037.J854 (plus updates)
Senior High School Library Catalog
Purdy/Kresge Reserves Desk, Z1037.W78 (plus supplements)

Print Resources - Other Print Resources

Authors and Illustrators of Children's Books
Purdy/Kresge Library Reference, PN1009.A1H58
Best in Children's Books
Purdy/Kresge Library Reference, Z1037.A1S93
Children’s Authors and Illustrators: An Index to Biographical Dictionaries
Purdy/Kresge Library Reference, Z1037.A1S93
Index to Children’s Poetry
Purdy/Kresge Library Reference, PN1023.B72
Index to poetry for Children and Young People 1988-1992
Purdy/Kresge Library Reference, PN1023.B68 1994
Twentieth Century Writers for Children
Purdy/Kresge Library Reference, PN1009.A1T9 1989

Multicultural Children's Books Resources

Against Borders
Purdy/Kresge Library Reserves Desk, Z1037.R6 1993
Books by African-American Authors and Illustrators
Purdy/Kresge Library Reserves Desk, Z1037.W672 1991
Developing Multicultural Awareness Through Children’s Literature
Purdy/Kresge Library Reserves Desk, Z1361.E4R63 1993

Other Internet Resources - General Research/Mega Sites

This site is geared towards the education professional with book reviews, curriculum and theme ideas, professional topics and other professional resources, and an online children's literature newsletter.
A user-friendly web page with links to the different areas of children's and young adult literature, maintained by Michael Cadden of Missouri Western State College.
Maintained by David Brown of the University of Calgary, this site is an extensive gathering of "internet resources related to children's and young adult literature".
A major reviewing publication for Children's Literature.
A powerful website for "sharing ideas and information with all those interested in literature for children and young adults". Highly recommended!!
A comprehensive list of "best of the web" links to sites about all aspects of children's and young adult literature

Other Internet Resources - Research Collections in Children's Literature

A collection of more than 93,000 volumes published in Great Britain and the United States from the early 1700s through the 1970s.
A leading center in the field of children's literature with primary focus on American and British literature.
Access 50 digital copies of rare 19th and early 20th century children
List of libraries, both public and university, with special collections of children's literature.
This site also houses the Lillian H. Smith Collection and the Canadiana Collection.

Other Internet Resources - Organizations

Index of websites for parents, teachers, caregivers, children, and young adults.
Best Books for Young Adults, Quick Picks, Top 10 Best Books and more.
Special - links and details on the various awards, grants and award-winners of children's literature.
Another all encompassing site, with links for publishers, librarians, teachers, parents and much more. A List of all CBC members -- an almost complete list of publishers of children's literature.
A list of professional associations with "some interest" in children's literature
An information center with a mandate to " serve those organizations and individuals who study, produce, collect, interpret and disseminate children's books

Other Internet Resources - Authors and Illustrators

Links to alphabetized web sites and information about series books, folktales, authors' biographies and more.
Conveniently divided into 4 levels: preschool through Grade 8.
This site leads to websites of several authors listed conveniently from A-Z.
An exhibition held at the National Library of Canada in 1997, with lists of illustrators, exhibition themes and more.

Other Internet Resources - History of Children's Literature

A digital library collection on the history of children's books in the former Soviet Union, maintained by McGill University, Montreal, Canada
A history of children's literature, with emphasis on the children's literature of the nineteenth century, maintained by the Thomas Cooper Library at the University of South Carolina.
An "interactive" study of the history of children's literature with several links to the ideas, themes and issues raised in the study.

Other Internet Resources - Folktales and Mythology

This page includes American folklore, the Veterans' History Project, links to journals dealing with folklore and mythology, and resources for teachers.
An award-winning internet encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and religion. The mythology section is divided to six geographical regions, and the folklore section contains general folklore, Arthurian legends, and fascinating folktales from many lands.
Index to online folktales from around the world.

Other Internet Resources - Multiculturalism

Links to workshops, conferences, recommended books and related links.
Compiled by Ginny Moore Kruse and Kathleen T. Horning at the School of Education at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Lists books by grade level with links to cover art.
Links to bibliographies and culture resources maintained by the Internet School Library Media Center at the University of Wisconsin
"Oyate is a Native organization working to see that our lives and histories are portrayed honestly, and so that all people will know our stories belong to us." Includes list of books to avoid for inaccurate portrayal of Native Americans.
Database including literature and resources for teachers from scholarly sources on teaching social justice, diversity, and tolerance.

Other Internet Resources - Interesting Sites

A database of over 5,000 abstracts of children's books for preschool to grade 3.
Books on topics such as: theory of ideology, censorship, feminism, race, types of children's literature and critical theory.
This site features the online version of the catalog produced for an exhibition of "more than four centuries of illustrated books, movable and pop-up books
Bibliographies and links to various issues in children's literature including the influence of librarians and teachers, feminist and multicultural concerns in children's literature, censorship, poetry for children and the appeal of folk tales, fairy tales and Nancy Drew.

Other Internet Resources - Online Journals and Books

"The best new children's literature print journal in the last 25 years...an outstanding resource for teachers and librarians" --From The Read-Aloud Handbook by Jim Trelease.
Full-text journal for school library media specialists
A full text academic journal on young adult fiction issued by Virginia Tech Universi

Other Internet Resources - Booklists

This website is maintained by independent booksellers in America. Lists are arranged by month and/or season.
Comprehensive list of Caldecott Medal and Honor Books. Hard copies of this list are available from the Purdy Reference Desk.
Comprehensive list of Newbery Medal Award winners and honor books. Hard copies of this list are available from the Purdy Reference Desk.
List of books, divided by discipline, for college-bound students and lifelong learners, selected by the Young Adult Library Services Association.
Maintained by Jennifer Hubert of the Little Red School House & Elisabeth Irwin High School in Greenwich Village in Manhattan. Reading Rants has lists of young adult books on various topics for boys and girls.

Guide maintained by: Suzan Alteri
last updated: December 14, 2007

Powered by ResearchGuide

WSU Libraries
3100 David Adamany Undergraduate Library
5155 Gullen Mall
Detroit, MI USA 48202
(313) 577-4023 / 5525 - fax