WSU Libraries
Subject Guide on CAE NSIS Virtual Resources
Table of Contents
Intelligence Community Center of Academic Excellence in National Security Intelligence Studies at Wayne State University
The program was designed to increase the pool of eligible applicants for positions in the intelligence community with diverse cultural backgrounds, language proficiency, geographical expertise and related competencies.
The program consists of:
- Summer Intelligence Institute
- Community Outreach
- Colloquiums
- Language and Cultural Opportunities
- Foreign Language Development
- Undergraduate Certificate
More information can be found at the Program website
The librarians at the Homeland Security Digital Library created this custom search engine to help blog readers find postings on topics of interest in the growing community of Homeland Security bloggers.
Richard A. Best Jr.;
Specialist in National Defense;
Foreign Affairs, Defense, and Trade Division
Raphael F. Perl;
Specialist in International Crime and Terrorism;
Foreign Affairs, Defense, and Trade Division
Introduction by Brian Michael Jenkins;
Edited by James O Ellis III
Office of the Director of National Intelligence
General Databases, Electronic Journals, and Books
Basic coverage of all subject areas including: arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.
Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjectsa.
The Statesman's Yearbook is a one-volume online reference book providing information on the countries of the world.
This subject guide was created for use by students in Anthropology 3150 to research various cultural aspects of doing business in their chosen country.
Highlighted Resource: Population Index
Highlighted Resources: NCJRS and Criminal Justice Abstracts
Highlighted Resources: EconLit and STAT-USA
Highlighted Resources: Engineering Index (aka Engineering Village), ACM Digital Library
Highlighted Resource: Quick Maps of the World (see http://www.theodora.com/maps/)
This guide was created for country research for The Ralph Bunche Summer Institute in preparation for the mock United Nations Assembly.
Information on Arabic, Chinese, Hebrew and Japanese life and culture.
Highlighted Resources: PAIS, Middle East Institute, Polling the Nations
Highlighted Resources: PsycArticles, PsycINFO
Over 250 same-day newspapers from 55 countries in their original format. Backfile includes last 60 days.
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. News can be filtered by category ("World News") and news source ("Middle East/Africa Sources")
NewsBank NewsFile collection is a full-text news resource containing comprehensive coverage of current issues and events from over 500 US and Canadian newspapers, news sources and domestic and international newswires.
Full-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic and minority presses in the United States.
More than 500 front pages from newspapers around the world. The Newseum displays these daily newspaper front pages in their original, unedited form. Some front pages may contain material that is objectionable to some visitors. Viewer discretion is advised.
The U.S. Government's official web portal.
The U.S. Government Printing Office disseminates official information from all three branches of the Federal Government.
The National Technical Information Service serves our nation as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today.
The Documents Center is a central reference and referral point for government information, whether local, state, federal, foreign or international. Its web pages are a reference and instructional tool for government, political science, statistical data, and news.
The mission of CPCS is to develop and implement projects, programs, curricula, research and publications in areas of scholarship related to international and domestic peace, war, social justice, arms control, globalization, multicultural awareness and constructive conflict resolution.
The Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) is an independent US Government agency responsible for providing national security intelligence to senior US policymakers.
A research institute dedicated to studying and tracking terrorist, extremist, and organized crime groups throughout the world.
"The International Policy Institute for Counter-Terrorism (ICT) is the leading academic institute for counter-terrorism in the world, facilitating international cooperation in the global struggle against terrorism."
Extensive bibliography with links to a variety of internet resources on the subject of terrorism. Compiled by Glenda Armstrong, bibliographer, Muir S. Fairchild Research Information Center, Maxwell AFB, AL.
Homeland Security leverages resources within federal, state, and local governments, coordinating the transition of multiple agencies and programs into a single, integrated agency focused on protecting the American people and their homeland.
The CIA World Factbook is one of the best geographic resources on the Internet. It is a collection of maps, flags, and comprehensive geographic information for every country and territory in the world (over 270 entries). The CIA World Factbook has been published in print form for public use by the United States Central Intelligence Agency since 1981. Over the past fifteen years, it has been made available online. From 1990 through 1993 it was placed on a gopher (text-based) Internet site by the Wiretap Electronic Text Archive. Since 1993, the CIA itself has operated a web site and has annually included the full text, maps, and flags for each world entity (including oceans and the planet itself). From About.com
These publications include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
This Web site contains the online versions of books previously published (1988-98) in hard copy by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program sponsored by the U.S. Department of the Army. Because the original intent of the series' sponsor was to focus primarily on lesser-known areas of the world or regions in which U.S. forces might be deployed, the series is not all-inclusive. At present, 101 countries and regions are covered. The date of information for each country appears on the title page of each country and at the end of each section of text. This Web site also contains brief, more up-to-date Country Profiles on select countries.
Portals to the World contains selective links providing authoritative, in-depth information about the nations and other areas of the world. They are arranged by country or area with the links for each sorted into a wide range of broad categories. The links were selected by Area Specialists and other Library staff using Library of Congress selection criteria.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is ...[a]comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. CIAO is also widely-recognized source for teaching materials including original case studies written by leading international affairs experts, course packs of background readings for history and political science classes, and special features like the analysis of a bin Laden recruitment tape with video.
The United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC) is a global leader in the fight against illicit drugs and international crime. Established in 1997, UNODC has approximately 500 staff members worldwide. UNODC is mandated to assist Member States in their struggle against illicit drugs, crime and terrorism.
Interpol is the world's largest international police organization, with 186 member countries. Created in 1923, it facilitates cross-border police co-operation, and supports and assists all organizations, authorities and services whose mission is to prevent or combat international crime.
Powered by ResearchGuide