WSU Libraries

Subject Guide on Foundation Center

The Purdy/Kresge Library is a Foundation Center cooperating collection. As a cooperating collection our mission is to serve the non-profit community with information on funding sources. There are no fees required to use the Foundation Center collection nor are appointments necessary. Please stop by.

Purdy/Kresge Library Information

Electronic searching

The Foundation Directory Online has unique searching capabilities to limit searching to funders within specific geographic boundaries, type of support, field of interest, and much more. Information on selected grants received by non-profits is also provided.
Come in to the Purdy/Kresge Library to access the Foundation Directory Online. Wayne State University students and affiliates may use the student workstations. Members of the Community may use a special workstation to access the Foundation Center Resources or apply for a community access id. Reminder: printing is 10 cents per page and patrons will need to purchase a copy card.
This database is targeted towards applying for assitance for projects as an individual. The search fields may be manipulated to search for scholarships, research, seed money, and more.
Come in to the Purdy/Kresge Library to access Foundation Grants to Individuals Online. Wayne State University students and affiliates may use the student workstations. Members of the Community may use a special workstation to access the Foundation Center Resources or apply for a community access id. Reminder: printing is 10 cents per page and patrons will need to purchase a copy card.

Reference works in the Purdy/Kresge Library Foundation Center collection

The Foundation Directory
AS 911 .A2 F65
The Foundation 1000
HV 97 .F65 F67a
Foundation Grants to Individuals
HV 97 .A3 F58
Guide to U.S. Foundations, Their Trustees, Officers, and Donors
AS 911 .A2 F64
National Directory of Corporate Giving
HG 4028 .C6 N37
The Foundation Center's Guide to Proposal Writing
HG 177.5 .U6 G44 2004
The Foundation Center's Guide to Winning Proposals
HV 41.9 .U5 F67 2003
The Foundation Center's Guide to
HV 41.2 .F68 2003
The Foundation Center's Guide to Grantseeking on the Web
HV 41.2 .F68 2003
Michigan Foundation Directory
HV 98 .M5 M53

Web resources

Many great tutorials listed under the "Learning Lab" tab on this web site.
This is a great site to find IRS 990-PFs and 990s. A free registration is required to search.
A site for philanthropic organizations in the State of Michigan.

Guide maintained by: Monique Andrews
last updated: June 13, 2007

Powered by ResearchGuide

WSU Libraries
3100 David Adamany Undergraduate Library
5155 Gullen Mall
Detroit, MI USA 48202
(313) 577-4023 / 5525 - fax