WSU Libraries
Citation Style Guides
Wayne State's Citation Example Pages
With this extensive list of examples of citations in APA Style, you should be able to cite just about any type of material or media in your research.
And with this equally extensive list of examples of citations in MLA Style, you should be able to cite just about any type of material or media in your research.
Citation Management Software and Online Citation Builders
Links to citation management software, tutorials, downloads, etc. available to you to assist you with citing your sources.
EndNote citation management software available free to all WSU students, facultya nd staff. It allows you to manually enter citation information, or export directly from the library's online databases. EndNote can format bibliographic entries in almost every citation style and works with most word processors to insert citations and build reference lists as you write.
Learn more about EndNote at a WSU Library System Drop-In Workshop or by through an online tutorial or webinar.
Learn more about EndNote at a WSU Library System Drop-In Workshop or by through an online tutorial or webinar.
Zotero is a free online citation management software that helps you gather, organize, and analyze sources and use the saved references with Microsoft Word and other word processing software. Zotero is a plug-in that ONLY works with the Firefox browser.
Learn how to use Zotero at a WSU Library System Drop-In Workshop.
Learn how to use Zotero at a WSU Library System Drop-In Workshop.
Citation Machine is an interactive Web tool that provides entry forms, soliciting information for selected information resources. The tool then assembles the entered information in APA style bibliographic and parentetical citations (5th Edition APA Publication Manual), and MLA (6th Edition MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers).
Use this tool at your own risk. As with all citation building tools, you should check the results against the appropriate Style Guide or Manual.
Use this tool at your own risk. As with all citation building tools, you should check the results against the appropriate Style Guide or Manual.
General Guides
This collection includes links to a wide variety of online Citation Style Guides
Produced by the University of Wisconsin Writing Center, this webpage teaches users how to cite their sources using APA, MLA, and Chicago styles. It includes instructions on using both reference lists and parenthetical references as well as formatting the paper and headings for the appropriate style.
This site created by Duke University Library provides students with examples of citations for commonly used material types in APA, MLA, Chicago, and Turabian styles.
This handout, created by the Online Writing Lab at Purdue University, will help you find resources for citing sources and formatting your paper in various disciplines.
Another excellent source for information on citing electronic sources in the APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.
This page contains links to sources which will help students, teachers, and anybody doing research on the Internet to cite electronic sources using different styles.
APA Style Guides
This is the website promoting the 6th edition of the APA Style manual. This website also provides:
- A tutorial on the Basics of APA Style
- A tutorial on What's New in the 6th Edition
- A helpful FAQ about APA Style
This guide is a revised and updated version of section 4.16 of the fifth edition of the Publication manual of the American Psychological Association. Click the APA Style Guide Full Text (PDF) to access the guide online.
This page from the Writer's Handbook, described above, provides users with a vast array of information on citing sources and formatting papers using APA style.
Great site from the Online Writing Lab at Purdue Univeristy for learning how to document your sources using APA Style.
Provides users with a wide variety of citation examples using APA Style.
MLA Style Guides
This page from the Writer's Handbook, described above, provides users with a vast array of information on citing sources and formatting papers using MLA style.
Great site from the Online Writing Lab at Purdue Univeristy for learning how to document your sources using MLA Style.
In addition to its simple MLA Starter citation builder, NoodleTools provides a Knowledge Base on the trickiest citation questions, and advice on how to develop a search strategy and research your topic.
Provides users with a wide variety of citation examples using MLA Style.
Excellent source for information on how to cite a wide variety of electronic sources using MLA style.
Provided by the Modern Languages Association itself, this page provides authoritative information on citing webpages using MLA style.
Chicago/Turabian Style Guides
This page from the Writer's Handbook, described above, provides users with a vast array of information on citing sources and formatting papers using Chicago Manual of Style.
Excellent source for information on how format your paper, including notes, in Chicago Style.
Avoiding Plagiarism
An in depth look at plagiarism. It describes what is and isn't considered plagiarism, why instructors are so concerned about it, and how students can avoid committing it.
Another excellent website on the problem of plagiarism and why and how students should avoid it.
Great site that show examples of accidental plagiarism and students can avoid making these common mistakes.
From Duke University, includes a section on plagiarism warning signs and prevention.
Provides guidelines for when and why to cite other works to avoid plagiarism.
Citing Specific Types of Materials
This page page provides users with basic instructions for citing government documents and then supplies them a wealth of examples.
The page provides explanation and examples for citing reviews from Mental Measurements Yearbook and Test Reviews Online using APA style.
Excellent source for information on how to cite a wide variety of legal material. It also provides in depth explanations on what sources to cite and why to cite them.