Shiffman Medical Library
Article Databases
50
showing
of
512
databases
- ABI World With more than 11,000 members, the American Bankruptcy Institute (ABI) is the largest multi-disciplinary, non-partisan organization dedicated to research and education on matters related to insolvency. Founded in 1982 to provide Congress and the public with unbiased analysis of bankruptcy issues, ABI is the premier professional organization in the field. Members span the entire spectrum of professionals and include attorneys, accountants, auctioneers, judges, lenders, academics, turnaround specialists, credit professionals and many others. (Access restricted to the computers in the law library)
-
Abstracts in Anthropology
Abstracts in Anthropology covers a broad spectrum of significant, current anthropological topics from a vast number of periodicals. Several thousand abstracts, selected and classified, fully indexed by author and subject, provide a thorough coverage of anthropological scholarship in Cultural Anthropology, Physical Anthropology, Archaeology, and Linguistics.
-
Abstracts in social gerontology (Ebscohost)
Abstracts in Social Gerontology includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to social gerontology, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
-
Academic Onefile (Gale)
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
-
Access, the supplementary index to periodicals online
Indexes a selection of periodicals not indexed by the Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature or Wilson Index to Periodicals Online.
(Requires userid and password. Ask at the Reference Desk for assistance.) -
AccessMedicine
A repository of medical knowledge from internal medicine, cardiology, genetics, pharmacy, diagnosis and management, basic sciences, patient care, and more. Continuously expanding, all databases in the repository contain the latest editions of selected medical titles.
-
AccessSurgery ( McGraw-Hill)
McGraw-Hill's AccessSurgery.com is an integrated online resource that provides medical students, surgical residents, and practicing surgeons with quick answers to surgical inquiries from trusted sources. Organized around the ACGME's (Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education) mandate for a Core Curriculum, AccessSurgery delivers content in context.
- AccessUN Index provides access to current and retrospective United Nations documents and publications. (Access restricted to the computers in the law library and law school.)
-
AccuNet/AP multimedia archive.
The Photo Archive features state, regional and national photos from North America, as well as ... international photos all available moments after they move on the AP's spot picture system. An average of 800 photos a day feed into the Photo Archive, and remain there for a minimum of one year. Specially trained indexers select the best 200 or so photos each day to save for all time, while the remainder are eliminated from the Photo Archive after 12 months.
(*delete your cache files* before entering the new site *For Mac Users* - AP Images is compatible with Mac OS 10 only (not 9.0) and you must have the latest version of Safari browser. It also works with FireFox browser for Mac.) -
AccuNet/AP photo archive
The Photo Archive features state, regional and national photos from North America, as well as ... international photos all available moments after they move on the AP's spot picture system. An average of 800 photos a day feed into the Photo Archive, and remain there for a minimum of one year. Specially trained indexers select the best 200 or so photos each day to save for all time, while the remainder are eliminated from the Photo Archive after 12 months.
(*delete your cache files* before entering the new site *For Mac Users* - AP Images is compatible with Mac OS 10 only (not 9.0) and you must have the latest version of Safari browser. It also works with FireFox browser for Mac.) -
ACM Digital Library
This site provides subscribers with access to ACM journals and magazines, as well as conference proceedings.
-
ACP Pier: The physicians' information and education resource (STATRef)
PIER is evidence-based clinical guidance presented electronically in a unique layered and telegraphic format. It is designed for rapid access to clinical information at the point of care. PIER includes recommendations based on all levels of medical evidence including RCTs, cohort and observational studies, case reports, and expert opinion.
-
ACS Publications
This web page provides access to the electronic full-text of the over 30 titles published (or co-published) by ACS. Select either Journals and magazines or Search the journals to get to the list of titles available.
-
Advanced polymers abstracts (CSA)
Advanced Polymers Abstracts captures technical information about the uses, manufacturing, and properties of thermoset and thermoplastic resins -- materials that compete heavily with metals for structural applications. This database, centralizing information on advanced plastics, is a subset of the Engineered Materials Abstracts database. Based on the former print journal of the same name, the EMA database is specifically designed for libraries that serve materials sciences researchers, engineers and scientists.
-
African American Experience (Greenwood Press)
An online collection on African American life, The African American Experience is an electronic research tool for African American history and culture. The two primary goals: to provide rock-solid information from authorities in the field, and to allow African Americans to speak for themselves through a wealth of primary sources. Drawing on over 400 volumes, and designed under the guidance of leading librarians, this database gives voice to the black experience from its African origins to the present day.
- Ageline Abstracts of social gerontology and aging-related articles, books, and reports.
- AGRICOLA Accesses the National Agricultural Library's Online Public Access Catalog and Journal Article Citation Index (AGRICOLA).
- AIDSinfo AIDSinfo is a U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) project providing information on HIV/AIDS clinical trials and treatment. It is the result of merging two previous DHHS projects: The AIDS Clinical Trials Information Service (ACTIS) and the HIV/AIDS Treatment Information Service (ATIS). It is a central resource for current information on federally and privately funded clinical trials for AIDS patients and others infected with HIV.
- Alcohol studies database Provides access to a database of over 50,000 citations for journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and audio-visual materials.
- AMA physician select Site provides demographic and professional information on individual physicians in the United States and its possessions, including doctors of osteopathy or osteopathic medicine (DO).
-
America: history and life (EbscoHost)
Online version of: America: history and life. Includes full-text of hundreds of journals originally published in paper.
- American Bankruptcy Institute With more than 11,000 members, the American Bankruptcy Institute (ABI) is the largest multi-disciplinary, non-partisan organization dedicated to research and education on matters related to insolvency. Founded in 1982 to provide Congress and the public with unbiased analysis of bankruptcy issues, ABI is the premier professional organization in the field. Members span the entire spectrum of professionals and include attorneys, accountants, auctioneers, judges, lenders, academics, turnaround specialists, credit professionals and many others. (Access restricted to the computers in the law library)
-
American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (EbscoHost)
American Bibliography of Slavic & Eastern European Studies (ABSEES), produced by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. Coverage for ABSEES ranges from 1990-present.
-
American Chemical Society Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS)
The client based SciFinder Scholar database provides access to; CAplus, a database of chemical literature and U.S. and foreign chemical-related patents, CASREACT, and the Registry database from Chemical Abstracts Service. It includes journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, substance database and dissertations indexed in Chemical Abstracts since 1907 as well as articles currently being indexed, book reviews and biographical information. This link takes one to the client installation instruction page.
(WSU AccessID and email password login required) - American community survey Provides estimates of housing, social, and economic characteristics. Issue for 1996 reports data from a limited number of sample sites; sample sites will be increased every year until future issues report data for all states, as well as for cities, counties, metropolitan areas, and various population groups; data presentation may be customized for viewing and saving.
- American Indian Experience (Greenwood Press) The American Indian Experience offers access to an online library, featuring more than 150 volumes of scholarship and reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and thousands of images. From Pre-contact to the present day, from the Inuit of the north to the Seminoles of Florida, AIE is meant for anyone wishing to learn more about America's Native Peoples.
- American Osteopathic Association D.O. database This database is an online reference source of membership information on the associationsʼ doctors of osteopathy.
-
American periodicals series online, 1740-1900
Consists of digitized reproductions of more than 1,100 eighteenth and nineteenth century newspapers and periodicals in the original microfilm reproduction series, American periodical series, I, II, and III. When completed in 2003, this database will have more than 7,000,000 pages of full text periodicals.
-
American society for microbiology journals
Features information about journals published by the American Society for Microbiology (ASM). Explains that the journals cover the spectrum of microbiology. Offers subscription details for individual journals and outlines submissions requirements for prospective authors. Links to full-text versions of the journals.
-
Amica Art Library (Cartography Associates)
The AMICA Library contains works of art from the collections of prominent museums worldwide. Cultures and time periods range from contemporary art, Native American and Inuit art, to ancient Greek, Roman, and Egyptian works, along with Japanese and Chinese works. Types of works include paintings, sculptures, drawings, prints, and photographs, as well as textiles, costumes, jewelry, decorative art, books and manuscripts. This is a subscription based collection.
-
Année philologique on the Internet (Cornell)
A database published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, under the direction of Éric Rebillard, with the American Philological Association and the Database of Classical Bibliography, Dee L. Clayman, General Editor, with the support of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (France) et du National Endowment for Humanities (USA). 600,000 bibliographic records for the years 1949 to 2004, with 12,500 new records added each year.
- Anthropological index of the Royal Anthropological Institute. Features The Anthropological Index Online, an index to current periodicals in the Museum of Mankind Library of the British Museum in London, England. Notes that the index is made available by the Centre for Social Anthropology and Computing (CSAC) at the University of Kent at Canterbury in Canterbury, England.
- Anthropological index online. Features The Anthropological Index Online, an index to current periodicals in the Museum of Mankind Library of the British Museum in London, England. Notes that the index is made available by the Centre for Social Anthropology and Computing (CSAC) at the University of Kent at Canterbury in Canterbury, England.
-
Anthropological Literature (FirstSearch)
Anthropological Literature is a bibliographic index to articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, psychology, and religious studies. Updated quarterly, Anthropological Literature indexes articles two or more pages long in works published in English and other European languages from the 19th century to the present.
-
AnthroSource (American Anthropological Association)
AnthroSource is an online portal serving the research, teaching and practicing needs of anthropologists. An online service of the American Anthropological Association, AnthroSource offers access to more than 100 years of anthropological knowledge.
-
Art Abstracts (Wilson)
Covers more than 250 key international, English-language arts publications, includes periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, competition and award notices, exhibition listings, interviews, film reviews, and so forth.
-
Art Images for College Teaching
AICT is a royalty-free image exchange resource for the educational community.
(Collection is accessed through Luna, which requires user to be either on-campus or WSU student, faculty, or staff ) -
Art Index Retrospective (Wilson)
A record of contemporary art history, Art Index Retrospective allows users to search 55 years of art journalism. Users can research English-language sources, plus others published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Besides periodicals, users have access to data from important yearbooks and select museum bulletins. Art Index Retrospective helps users find contemporary criticism of art at the time of its debut, track the body of work of an artist or movement, and find artists’ interviews and other commentary.
-
Artbibliographies modern
Modern and contemporary art, photography and design
- Artcyclopedia An index of artists, image archives, links form well-known artists and other online resources.
- ARTFL project, University of Chicago Full-text retrieval databases of classical French writings, reference resources, bibliographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, periodicals, pamphlets, and ARTFL newsletters. Databases include literary works, political tracts, philosophical writings, and technical treatises. Coverage starts with 12th century.
-
ArticleFirst (FirstSearch)
Contains bibliographic citations that describe items listed on the table of contents pages of more than 13,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.
-
Arts & humanities citation index (ISI)
Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
- arXiv.org e-Print archive arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology.
-
ASCE civil engineering database (ASCE)
A searchable database of citations and abstracts for ASCE documents published since 1973. It provides access to all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newsletter. Subject areas include aerospace, earthquake, environmental, forensic, geotechnical, structural and architectural engineering, bridges, cold regions, computer practices, construction, engineering mechanics, highways, hydrology, hydraulics, irrigation and drainage, transportation, urban planning, water resources, and waterway, port, coastal and ocean engineering. Also includes ASCE Market Place Computer Software Buyer's Guide.
- ASCE Publications ASCE is the world's largest publisher of civil engineering information. Includes a searchable database and access to individual journal titles published by the American Society of Civil Engineers. It also includes new, author's guides, etc.
-
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (CSA)
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts on the Web is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional.
-
Associations Unlimited (Gale)
Information about associations and professional societies, listings for nonprofit membership organizations of U.S. national, regional, state, and local, or international scope; in addition to 144,000 listings of the Encyclopedia of associations (EA) series, nearly 300,000 additional nonprofit organizations have been added to this database.
- Audio Case Files (Courtroom Connect, Inc. (CCI)) AudioCaseFiles offers downloadable MP3 files of court opinions as well as streaming trial video. Search by course or casebook to find audio material from 1L classes and 2L and 3L subjects. Watch seasoned practitioners argue cases on products liability, antitrust, mergers and acquisitions, and more. (Access restricted to law students and law faculty via online registration using the WSU Law School e-mail.)
- AudioCaseFiles (Courtroom Connect, Inc. (CCI)) AudioCaseFiles offers downloadable MP3 files of court opinions as well as streaming trial video. Search by course or casebook to find audio material from 1L classes and 2L and 3L subjects. Watch seasoned practitioners argue cases on products liability, antitrust, mergers and acquisitions, and more. (Access restricted to law students and law faculty via online registration using the WSU Law School e-mail.)