Shiffman Medical Library

Article Databases

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z # all
Databases starting with "c"
60
showing
of
512
databases
  • CABI Publishing Off-campus access login required Nutrition Abstracts and Reviews is a fully searchable abstract database covering information on all issues related to food and health from food composition and safety to obesity, parenteral nutrition and allergies. Taken from CABI Abstracts it includes all papers relevant to human nutrition selected from more than 1000 academic journals (including all the core ones), books, reports and conferences published worldwide. (Actually this is: Nutrition Abstracts and Reviews. Series A: Human and Experimental from Centre for Agriculture and Biosciences International.)
  • CALI Collection of interactive, computer-based lessons covering numerous legal education subject areas. Designed to augment tradition law school education. (Access restricted to the law school faculty and law students. See reference desk for access.)
  • Camio Off-campus access login required Catalog of Art Museum Images Online is a resource of works of art from around the world contributed and described by leading museums. Showcasing a wide range of fine and decorative art, CAMIO provides high-quality art images for education, research and enjoyment. All content is rights-cleared for educational use. Every work in CAMIO is represented by at least one high-resolution image and a description. Many have additional views of the work, sound, video and curatorial notes. (You can provide your users with high-quality art images from leading museums through CAMIO®—Catalog of Art Museum Images Online. It offers content that is rights-cleared for educational use. Available as a subscription providing unlimited access. (Note taken from OCLC website).)
  • Campbell Collaboration The Campbell Collaboration is an international research network that produces systematic reviews of the effects of social interventions. The Campbell Library of Systematic Reviews provides free online access to systematic reviews in the areas of education, criminal justice and social welfare.
  • Canadian encyclopedia online Contains the full English text of the Canadian Encyclopedia, a work 20 years in the making. The Encyclopedia represents the co-operative efforts of some 3800 contributors from all parts of Canada.
  • Cancer Information Service Profiles the Cancer Information Service, which provides accurate, up-to-date information on cancer for patients and their families, health professionals, and the general public. Provides the Cancer Information Service's toll-free telephone number - 1-800-4-CANCER. The service offers information on the latest cancer treatments, clinical trials, tips on cancer detection and how to reduce risk of cancer, and community services for patients and their families.
  • CancerNet An online source for cancer information, designed for patients and the public, health professionals, and basic researchers.
  • Carcinogenic potency database Widely used resource on the results of chronic long term animal cancer tests.
  • CCH Intelliconnect (CCH) Off-campus access login required IntelliConnect is a research platform new and improved search capabilities and access to CCHs content. IntelliConnect is a new functional and technological way to access the current research platform known as Tax Research NetWork and Internet Research NetWork.
  • CCRIS--Chemical carcinogenesis research information system Full-text information on carcinogenicity, mutagenicity, tumor promotion, and tumor inhibition test results of over 8000 chemicals. Searchable through TOXNET's Toxicology data search.
  • CDC National Prevention Information Network A comprehensive information service for people working in the fields of HIV prevention, care, and support.
  • CDC wonder Provides a single point of access to a variety of CDC reports, guidelines, and numeric public health data.
  • Cell :a molecular approach A book that is designed to be an approachable and teachable text that on the subject of cell biology and the four major breakdowns of the topic.
  • ChemIDplus ChemIDplus provides access to structure and nomenclature authority files used for the identification of chemical substance cited in National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases. ChemIDplus also provides structure searching and direct links to many biomedical resources at NLM and on the Internet for chemicals of interest. The database contains over 349,000 chemical records, of which over 56,000 include chemical structures, and is searchable by name, synonym, CAS registry number, molecular formula, classification code, locator code, and structure. ChemIDplus is searchable through TOXNET's Toxicology data search.
  • CHEMnetBASE Off-campus access login required CHEMnetBASE - a wealth of chemical information from Chapman & Hall/CRC, available on the Internet. Some of the world's major reference works now available at your desk. The key components of CHEMnetBASE are: Combined Chemical Dictionary, The Handbook of Chemistry & Physics, Polymers, A Property Database, Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds, and Properties of Organic Compounds.
  • Chicago Tribune Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty The Chicago Tribune keeps readers informed of the latest news from the Chicago area, the nation and the world every day. The Tribune has a reputation for investigative and public service journalism earning 24 Pulitzer Prizes since 1932. Comprehensive coverage back to 1985.
  • Chicago Tribune Historical Full-Text Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty The Chicago Tribune (1849-1986) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
  • CHID, combined health information database The CHID database provides titles, abstracts, and availability for resources on health promotion and health education. Compiled by health-related agencies of the federal government.
  • Child Care and Early Education Resources in the collection examine the child care and early education experiences of children birth through age 8 and -- when addressing school-age child care -- through age 13. The collection brings together original research, syntheses, datasets, and other research-related resources from the wide range of social science disciplines and professional fields that study early care and education.
  • Children's Books in Print Off-campus access login required Database of children's books in print from Bowker.
  • Chilton Library Off-campus access login required ChiltonLibrary.com represents the most authoritative automotive repair information available to car owners. There are thousands of year, make, and model combinations covering the most popular vehicles of the past 30 years, plus additional coverage of specialty models. ChiltonLibrary.com gives you the confidence to service or repair virtually any system on your vehicle.
  • Chronicle of Higher Education Off-campus access login required The Chronicle of Higher Education is the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators. Online, The Chronicle is published every weekday and is the top destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe. The Chronicle's Web site features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; articles published since September 1989; vibrant discussion forums; and career-building tools such as an online CV's, salary databases, and more.
  • CILP Off-campus access login required Subscription-based current awareness service for legal research. Provides subject indexing and listing of tables of contents for more than 500 law journals. Publisher's interface provides links to current issues, and information about subject headings used, periodicals indexed, bluebook abbreviations, subscription options and pricing, and related topics. (Access restricted to the computers in the law library and law school. See reference desk for access.)
  • CINAHL (EbscoHost) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty ArticleLinker enabled CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing for 2,857 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982. Access also includes Pre-CINAHL. Pre-CINAHL is intended to provide current awareness of new journal articles, and includes a rotating file of limited bibliographic information (no subject searching), which are available to searchers only for the time when these articles are being assigned additional indexing.
  • CINDAS MPMD (Microelectronics Packaging Materials Database) (CSA) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty The Microelectronics Packaging Materials Database (MPMD) contains data on thermal, mechanical, electrical and physical properties of electronics packaging materials. This database which contains properties of over 750 materials and contains over 15,000 data curves was developed under the sponsorship of the Semiconductor Research Corporation.
  • CINDAS TPMD (Thermophysical Properties of Matter Database) (CSA) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty The Thermophysical Properties of Matter Database (TPMD) contains thermophysical properties of over 5,000 materials with approximately 50,000 data curves that illustrate how various properties of materials behave under different test conditions. The database is searchable by material group, material name, property group, property name and independent variable. For all data curves, the material composition, experimental conditions, raw or smoothed data, and references are given.
  • CIS (American Statistical Association and Institute of Mathematical Statistics) Off-campus access login required Contains cumulative bibliographic citations to statistical books and articles in more than 1,000 journals, with coverage generally extending back to 1974, earlier in some instances.
  • Civil engineering database (ASCE) Off-campus access login required A searchable database of citations and abstracts for ASCE documents published since 1973. It provides access to all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newsletter. Subject areas include aerospace, earthquake, environmental, forensic, geotechnical, structural and architectural engineering, bridges, cold regions, computer practices, construction, engineering mechanics, highways, hydrology, hydraulics, irrigation and drainage, transportation, urban planning, water resources, and waterway, port, coastal and ocean engineering. Also includes ASCE Market Place Computer Software Buyer's Guide.
  • Clinical Alerts (NLM) NLM began offering clinical alert notices online in January 1991. Clinical alerts are provided to expedite the release of findings from the NIH-funded clinical trials where such release could significantly affect morbidity.
  • Clinical practice guidelines online Collection of clinical practice guidelines, quick reference guides for clinicians, and consumer versions that are in English and Spanish.
  • Clinical Trials.gov Provides patients, family members, health care professionals, and members of the public easy access to information on clinical trials for a wide range of diseases and conditions.
  • CLJC (Washington & Lee Law School) ArticleLinker enabled Washington & Lee Law School project that provides open access to customized search, e-mail alerts, and RSS feeds for the Table Of Contents (TOC) of over 13000 legal periodicals. WSU Law Library provides TOC for 15 titles.
  • Cochrane database of systematic reviews (Wiley) Off-campus access login required Consists chiefly of 7 databases: Cochrane database of systematic reviews; Database of abstracts of reviews of effectiveness (DARE); Cochrane central register of controlled trials (CENTRAL); Cochrane database of methodology reviews; Cochrane methodology register; Health technology assessment database (HTA); and NHS Economic evaluation database (NHS EED).
  • Cochrane Library (Wiley) Off-campus access login required Consists chiefly of 7 databases: Cochrane database of systematic reviews; Database of abstracts of reviews of effectiveness (DARE); Cochrane central register of controlled trials (CENTRAL); Cochrane database of methodology reviews; Cochrane methodology register; Health technology assessment database (HTA); and NHS Economic evaluation database (NHS EED).
  • Code of Federal Regulations (GPO Access) The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. Each volume of the CFR is updated once each calendar year and is issued on a quarterly basis.
  • CollegeSource Off-campus access login required Consists of college profiles and full-text college catalogs.
  • Colonial Williamsburg Foundation’s Digital Library Off-campus access login required Search engine with digitized versions of rare books and manuscripts from the Foundation's collection, a selection of reports on the buildings and people of 18th century Williamsburg, and the complete run of the Virginia Gazette to 1780. Over time, more resources will be added to this archive.
  • Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) Off-campus access login required CIAO includes original case studies written by leading international affairs experts, course packs of background readings for history and political science classes, and special features like the analysis of a bin Laden recruitment tape with video. (ILL Allowed. Print or Electronic copies.)
  • Communication and Mass Media Complete (EbscoHost) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty ArticleLinker enabled Communication & Mass Media Complete provides quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for over 390 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of 200 more, for a combined coverage of nearly 600 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for 285 journals.
  • Compendex Off-campus access login required ArticleLinker enabled The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented. Coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields.
  • Composites industry abstracts (CSA) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty ArticleLinker enabled Composites Industry Abstracts focuses on polymers and ceramics reinforced with fibers, honeycombs, whiskers and laminates. Strong yet lightweight, these materials are now used for a variety of applications, from automotive body panels to sporting goods. This database, centralizing information on composite materials, is a subset of the Engineered Materials Abstracts database. Based on the former print journal of the same name, the EMA database is specifically designed for libraries that serve materials sciences researchers, engineers and scientists.
  • Computer Assisted Legal Information Library of Lessons Collection of interactive, computer-based lessons covering numerous legal education subject areas. Designed to augment tradition law school education. (Access restricted to the law school faculty and law students. See reference desk for access.)
  • Computer Database (Gale) Off-campus access login required ArticleLinker enabled Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.
  • Contemporary Authors Off-campus access login required A bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television, and other fields
  • Contemporary women's issues. (Gale) Off-campus access login required A database of full text contributions on a broad range of women's issues extracted from over 1500 sources worldwide, including more than 100 periodicals.
  • ContentsFirst (FirstSearch) Off-campus access login required Contains the complete table of contents information from more than 13,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.
  • COS Expertise Off-campus access login required Find available funds, grants, fellowships, and awards from all over the world.
  • COS Funding Opportunities Off-campus access login required A comprehensive searchable database of funding information, with more than 25,000 records, representing over 400,000 funding opportunities worth over $33 billion.
  • COS Scholar Universe (CSA Illumina) Off-campus access login required Details on more than one million scholars and organizations around the world, calls for papers for upcoming conferences and special issues.
  • Courtroom Connect Audio Case Files (Courtroom Connect, Inc. (CCI)) AudioCaseFiles offers downloadable MP3 files of court opinions as well as streaming trial video. Search by course or casebook to find audio material from 1L classes and 2L and 3L subjects. Watch seasoned practitioners argue cases on products liability, antitrust, mergers and acquisitions, and more. (Access restricted to law students and law faculty via online registration using the WSU Law School e-mail.)
  • Courtroom Connect Video (Courtroom Connect, Inc. (CCI)) Provides trial video from major legal proceedings. Online streaming video of civil trials, civil hearings, and appellate court oral arguments. See the digital evidence as it is presented during the courtroom proceedingsline streaming video of civil trials, civil hearings, and appellate court oral arguments. See the digital evidence as it is presented during the courtroom proceedings (Access restricted to the law students and faculty only via online registration using the WSU AccessID.)
  • CQ public affairs collection Off-campus access login required The CQ Public Affairs Collection brings together CQ's unmatched storehouse of current affairs content in a single, easy-to-use, and fully integrated reference tool. Organized by 22 key public affairs subject headings like Advocacy and Public Service, Education, Energy, the Environment, Health, and Transportation the CQ Public Affairs Collection features in-depth reporting on vital issues, statistical and historical analyses, historic documents and primary source materials, as well as a directory of key government, nonprofit, and private organizations in each of the major policy areas.
  • CQ Researcher Off-campus access login required The CQ Library is a subscription-only service that provides Web access to CQ weekly and the CQ researcher.
  • Criminal Justice Abstracts (CSA) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty ArticleLinker enabled Criminal Justice Abstracts, the criminology database from SAGE Publications, contains comprehensive coverage of international journals, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines.
  • CRISP CRISP (Computer Retrieval of Information on Scientific Projects) is a searchable database of federally funded biomedical research projects conducted at universities, hospitals, and other research institutions.
  • CSA Illumina Databases (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts) Off-campus access login required ArticleLinker enabled CSA Illumina provides access to over 15 full-text and bibliographic databases in the Arts & Humanities, Natural Sciences, Social Sciences and Technology.
  • Current index to legal periodicals Off-campus access login required Subscription-based current awareness service for legal research. Provides subject indexing and listing of tables of contents for more than 500 law journals. Publisher's interface provides links to current issues, and information about subject headings used, periodicals indexed, bluebook abbreviations, subscription options and pricing, and related topics. (Access restricted to the computers in the law library and law school. See reference desk for access.)
  • Current Index to Statistics (American Statistical Association and Institute of Mathematical Statistics) Off-campus access login required Contains cumulative bibliographic citations to statistical books and articles in more than 1,000 journals, with coverage generally extending back to 1974, earlier in some instances.
  • Current Law Journal Content (Washington & Lee Law School) ArticleLinker enabled Washington & Lee Law School project that provides open access to customized search, e-mail alerts, and RSS feeds for the Table Of Contents (TOC) of over 13000 legal periodicals. WSU Law Library provides TOC for 15 titles.
  • Current research at Wayne State University Off-campus access login required Contains citations and abstracts of dissertations and theses submitted by Wayne State University and published in UMI's dissertation abstracts database; authorized users may download the full text of dissertations and theses.

Shiffman Medical Library
Wayne State University
Mazurek Medical Education Commons
320 E. Canfield St.
Detroit, MI 48201
(313) 577-1094