Shiffman Medical Library
- Harrison's online Access current edition of Harrison's Online providing immediate access to the most widely used resource in clinical medicine and research. Updated daily, the fully searchable database includes the complete text, illustrations, and expanded features from the 15th edition of Harrison's. The fully searchable database regularly presents fully revised and updated content from the distinguished editors and Nobel Prize winning contributors.
- Haz-Map Haz-Map is an occupational toxicology database of occupational diseases and their symptoms that interrelates chemicals, jobs and diseases. The Haz-Map Jobs table is based on the 1997 Standard Occupational Classification (SOC) system. The Industries table is based on the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system. The Diseases table is based on the International Classification of Diseases (ICD-9). Information from relevant textbooks, journal articles, and electronic databases are included.
- HazDat database HazDat, the Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry's Hazardous Substance Release/Health Effects Database, and includes: site characteristics, activities and site events, contaminants found, contaminant media and maximum concentration levels, impact on population, community health concerns, ATSDR public health threat categorization & recommendations, environmental fate of hazardous substances, exposure routes, and physical hazards at the site/event.
- Health & wellness resource center (Gale) Provides full-text materials, abstracts, and citations to patient and consumer health information.
- Health and psychosocial instruments (Ebscohost) Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) provides information about behavioral measurement instruments, abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health and psychosocial sciences. Additionally, instruments from Industrial/Organizational Behavior and Education are included. Records provide information on questionnaires, interview schedules, vignettes/scenarios, coding schemes, rating and other scales, checklists, indexes, tests, projective techniques, and more.
- Health reference center academic (Gale) Provides both full-text materials and references to patient and consumer health information.
- Health services and sciences research resources HSRR contains information about research datasets and instruments/indices employed in health services research, and the behavioral and social sciences with links to PubMed and additional resources.
- Healthfinder Healthfinder is a gateway consumer health information Web site from the United States Government. This site, launched April 15, 1997, contains selected health and human services information resources such as online publications, clearinghouses, databases, Web sites, and support and self-help groups, as well as the government agencies and not-for-profit organizations that produce reliable information for the public.
- HeinOnline (Hein) HeinOnline provides online access to legal journals, rare and out-of-print collections, and all back issues of indexed legal journals. This page provides access to all HeinOnline libraries subscribed to by WSU. It also provides a tool to search across the various resources.
- HeinOnline: Foreign & International Law Resources Database FILRD provides access to international law (relationships between countries) publications including International Yearbooks and Serials, U.S. Law Digests, International Tribunals/Judicial Decisions and other significant works related to foreign and international law. Sources include the American Society of International Law, the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice, International Arbitral Awards as well as International Courts of Arbitration.
- HeinOnline: Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (Hein) International legal information index with citations for articles and books reviews from legal periodicals, essay collections, festschrifts, and congress reports. Coverage from 1985 to present.
- HeinOnline: U.S. Federal Legislative History Library (Hein Online) The Legislative History Title Collection is a collection of full-text legislative histories on some of the most important and historically significant legislation of our time. In addition to major complete legislative histories this collection includes texts related to legislative histories. A legislative history is the collection of documents that are produced in Congress during the enactment of a law.
- HeinOnline: U.S. Statutes at Large (Hein Online) The United States Statutes at Large, commonly referred to as the Statutes at Large, is the official source for the laws and resolutions passed by the U.S. Congress. Publication began in 1845 by the private firm of Little, Brown and Company under authority granted by a joint resolution of Congress. In 1874, Congress transferred the authority to publish the Statutes at Large to the Government Printing Office, which has been responsible for producing the set since that time.
- HelpingPatients.org (Partnership for prescription assistance) The Partnership for Prescription Assistance brings together America’s pharmaceutical companies, doctors, patient advocacy organizations and civic groups to help low-income, uninsured patients get free or nearly free brand-name medicines. Through this site, PPARX offers a single point of access to more than 275 public and private patient assistance programs. including more than 150 programs offered by pharmaceutical companies.
- Henry Stewart Talks Henry Stewart Talks publishes animated audio visual presentations by world leading experts - advanced content in a user friendly format. Covering biomedicine and the life sciences. Every talk has been specially commissioned with informative visuals and synchronized narration.
- HerbMed HerbMed is an herbal database, hyperlinking directly to the scientific evidence on the use of herbs for health. The herb database is fully searchable and covers: evidence for activity, warnings and contraindications, methods of preparation and mechanisms of action. Free access to 45 herbs. (Free access to 45 herbs. Some links may request payment.)
- HeritageQuest Online (MelCat Database) HeritageQuest Online includes all of the images, and indexing, from the 1790 - 1930 U.S. federal censuses. More than 22,000 digitized books, including early family and local histories. Over 250 primary-source documents such as tax lists, city directories, probate records. Also included: Periodical Source Index (PERSI), Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application Files, the Freedman's Bank Records, and the U.S. Serial Set Private Relief Actions, Memorials and Petitions.
- HighlyCited.com Tool to identify highly cited scientific researchers. Contains biographical information: education, faculty and professional posts, memberships and/or offices, current research interests, and personal Web sites. Also contains a researcher's full listing of publications: journal articles, book or book chapters, conference proceedings, web sites and other Internet resources. The bibliography is enhanced by links to the full bibliographic information indexed in the ISI Web of Science.
- Hispanic American periodicals index Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) includes information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Topics include: current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, from: articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals.
- Historical abstracts (EbscoHost) Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present. Coverage is identical to the expanded edition of the CD-ROM version.
- Historical Chicago Tribune (ProQuest) The Chicago Tribune (1849-1986) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
- Historical Detroit Free Press (ProQuest) ProQuest Historical Newspapers Detroit Free Press (1831-1922) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
- Historical Los Angeles Times (ProQuest) The Los Angeles Times (1881-1986) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
- Historical New York Times. (ProQuest) The New York Times (1851-2006) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
- Historical Statistics of the United States (Cambridge Journals Online) The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field.
- Historical Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) The Wall Street Journal (1889-1991) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
- Historical Washington Post (ProQuest) The Washington Post (1877-1992) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
- History of Science, Technology and Medicine (HSTM) (FirstSearch) HSTM integrates four premier tools (Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, Current Bibliography in the History of Technology, Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and citations from the Wellcome Library) to create an international bibliography for the history of science, technology and medicine. Records describe journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews and dissertations in all scientific disciplines and related fields.
- HIV InSite This site strives to provide fair and balanced representation of points of view on the many aspects of AIDS. HIV InSite is designed as a gateway to in-depth information about particular aspects of HIV/AIDS. Views, policies and recommendations contained within HIV InSite materials are not necessarily shared by all HIV InSite staff, editors or sponsoring or contributing organizations. HIV InSite provides links to specific evaluated information on AIDS related research and attendant policy issues. Site also features the new chapters of HIV InSite Knowledge Base, the comprehensive work on HIV research. The work has been a consummate source of authoritative AIDS-related knowledge. The scope of the textbook is wide and inclusive of topics of interest to those in all branches of AIDS and HIV research, medical treatment and patient care.
- Household products database This database links over 4,000 consumer brands to health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) provided by the manufacturers and allows scientists and consumers to research products based on chemical ingredients.
- HSDB--Hazardous substances data bank Information on toxicity, human exposure, industrial hygiene, emergency handling procedures, environmental fate, and regulatory requirements of over 4500 chemicals. Searchable through TOXNET's Toxicology data search.
- HSTAT Health Services/Technology Assessment Texts (HSTAT) is a free, electronic resource of full-text documents that provides health information and supports health-care decision making. It includes evidence-based reviews, guidance and research on methods from AHRQ; evidence reports sponsored by AHCPR; protocols from SAMHSA; recommendations from USPSTF; reports from NIH Consensus Development Program; and archived guidelines and reports. HSTAT was developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
- Human genome resources A challenge facing researchers today is that of piecing together and analyzing the plethora of data currently being generated through the Human Genome Project and scores of smaller projects. NCBI's Web site serves an an integrated, one-stop, genomic information infrastructure for biomedical researchers from around the world so that they may use these data in their research efforts.
- Human Relations Area Files (Yale University) eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
- Humanities & social sciences index retrospective, 1907-1984. This database offers the ability to search a wide range of important journals in the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1907. Coverage also includes content from H.W. Wilsonâ€™s International Index. Combine this valuable resource with other Wilson databases such as Humanities Full Text and/or Social Sciences Full Text for a century of research in hundreds of journals.
- HyperStat Online Presents HyperStat Online, an online introductory level hypertext statistics book that provides access to additional statistics resources, provided by David M. Lane. Offers access to a glossary, analysis tools, instructional demos, and exercises. Contains information on univariate and bivariate data, probability, normal distribution, confidence intervals, testing hypotheses, Chi Square, and related topics. Links to other online statistics resources.