Shiffman Medical Library

Article Databases

Economics

  • Business Source Complete: (EbscoHost) Off-campus access login required With more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete is THE database for journal articles from all disciplines of business. Also includes additional full text content including financial data, books, conference proceedings, case studies, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
  • Digital Commons @ Wayne State University: Off-campus access login required Digital Commons is a service of the Wayne State University libraries. It provides a repository for Wayne State University research and scholarly output selected and deposited by the individual university departments and centers, and includes the full-text of WSU theses and dissertations.
  • Dissertations and theses - full text: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. UMI offers over 1.8 million titles for purchase in microfilm or paper formats. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download.
  • EconLit: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Comprehensive index to the world's economic literature (over 300 major economic journals) compiled by the American Economic Association
  • Electronic collections online: (FirstSearch) Off-campus access login required A searchable database of a growing collection of journals in a variety of subject areas.
  • Federal Reserve Board: Includes links to the publications and education resources issued by the Federal Reserve, including monetary policy, banking information and regulations, payment systems, community development and economic research and data. Also includes a link to reporting forms.
  • General Onefile: (Gale) Off-campus access login required A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily
  • JSTOR (Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, IX, X and XI Collections): (JSTOR) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. WSU currently subscribes to the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VII, IX, X and XI Collections.
  • LegalTrac: (Gale) Off-campus access login required LegalTrac is the web-based version of the print Current Law Index. Access to major legal periodicals includes indexing (to help you identify relevant articles) for more than 1500 law reviews, legal newspapers and journals as well as over 250 full text titles. This source also contains law related articles from general and business publications. Updated daily and covering 1980 to the present, search templates include basic, subject guide, publication and advanced search methods.
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe: (Lexis-Nexis) Off-campus access login required Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.
  • OECD iLibrary: (SourceOECD) Off-campus access login required SourceOECD is the publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) and consists of sections that include Books and Reports by Theme, Periodicals, reference titles, and Statistical databases. To access SourceOECD users have to subscribe to the portal on an annual basis. OECD, based in Paris, France, is a forum permitting governments of industrialized democracies to study and formulate policies in all economic and social spheres.
  • PAIS International: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Formerly PAIS Decade, this database provides indexing and abstracting of articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs.
  • ProQuest Research Library: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Includes citations and articles - many full text - on a broad range of topics including arts, business, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests from a mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
  • ProQuest Statistical Insight: (Lexis-Nexis) Off-campus access login required Provides abstracts and indexes of statistical information from over 100,000 U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and approximately 2000 documents from international organizations from 1983. Incorporates ASI subject and keyword searching. Full text or web links provided for some citations.
  • ScienceDirect: (Elsevier) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty A Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts and the full text of more than 1000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.
  • USA.gov: USA.gov is a virtual system that allows Internet users to search millions of U.S. Government web pages without having to know where that information lives. USA.gov allows people to navigate through government web pages using topic listings, key word(s) searches, or by clicking to executive, legislative, and judicial sites. It contains links to state and local government web pages. USA.gov also provides a means for people to give feedback to agencies and to USA.gov itself.
  • Web of Science: (ISI) Off-campus access login required Online version of the ISI indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index from 1975-. A search can be limited to one index (i.e. Science Citation Index OR Social Science Citation Index).
  • WorldCat: (FirstSearch) Off-campus access login required Over 36 million records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 11th century.

More Resources

Shiffman Medical Library
Wayne State University
Mazurek Medical Education Commons
320 E. Canfield St.
Detroit, MI 48201
(313) 577-1094