Shiffman Medical Library

Article Databases

Education

  • Abstracts in social gerontology: (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Abstracts in Social Gerontology includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to social gerontology, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
  • Academic Onefile: (Gale) Off-campus access login required Academic OneFile contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
  • Books 24X7: Books 24x7 contains books, book summaries, research reports, and best practices on a variety of topics, including business, engineering, and technology.
  • Books in print: (Bowker) Off-campus access login required Online database of bibliographic records. Indexes nearly 1.5 million titles currently in print, out of print (or soon to be published) from over 44, 000 North American publishers and distributors. Search by author, title, subject, ISBN, keyword, etc.
  • Business Source Complete: (EbscoHost) Off-campus access login required With more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete is THE database for journal articles from all disciplines of business. Also includes additional full text content including financial data, books, conference proceedings, case studies, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
  • Child Care and Early Education: Resources in the collection examine the child care and early education experiences of children birth through age 8 and -- when addressing school-age child care -- through age 13. The collection brings together original research, syntheses, datasets, and other research-related resources from the wide range of social science disciplines and professional fields that study early care and education.
  • Dance Education Literature and Research descriptive index: Off-campus access login required The Dance Education Literature and Research descriptive index (DELRdi) includes citations and descriptive information for dance literature and research from 1926 to the present. Covers 4,100+ literary works including theses, dissertations, journal articles, conference proceedings and reports from 200+ publications and organizations and 147 university dance programs. Methodology, techniques, and characteristics of the research documented are included in the index.
  • Database of Research on International Education: Abstracts of books, articles, conference papers and reports on various aspects of international education from publishers around the world. Covers material published from 1990 onwards, a period of major change in education systems around the world and in the trade in educational services.
  • Dissertations and theses - full text: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. UMI offers over 1.8 million titles for purchase in microfilm or paper formats. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download.
  • Ebscohost eBook Collection: (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required A searchable collection of electronic books.
  • EdITLib Digital Library: (Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education) Off-campus access login required The EdITLib Digital Library is your source for peer-reviewed and published articles and papers on the latest research, developments, and applications related to all aspects of Educational Technology and E-Learning.
  • Education abstracts: (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required More than 400 English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the U.S. and elsewhere. Subjects include administration, teaching methods and curriculum, literacy, government funding, and more. Indexing from June 1983 to the present. Abstracts from August 1994. Updated monthly.
  • Education at a glance: A rich, comparable and up-to-date array of indicators on the performance of education systems. In doing so, it represents the consensus of professional thinking on how to measure the current state of education internationally.
  • Education resource organizations directory: EROD helps users identify and contact organizations that provide information and assistance on a broad range of education related topics. The database includes information on over 2,200 national, regional, and state organizations and is constantly being updated and expanded. In many cases, entries contain direct links to the organization's home page.
  • Engineering village 2: Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Provides access to bibliographic databases of engineering research literature, including Compendex, as well as to patents, standards and handbooks.
  • ERIC: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Both journals provide access to some 14,000 documents and over 20,000 journal articles per year.
  • ETS ReSEARCHER: ETS is a nonprofit institution which develops, administers and scores standard tests and assessments, such as the TOEFL and GRE. ETS also conducts educational research, analysis and policy studies. This database captures research published by ETS and its staff, such as: Research Reports, Policy Reports, Books and Book Chapters, Journal Articles and Conference Papers. Links to publications to which ETS holds the copyright are provided in the database.
  • Family studies abstracts: (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Family Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library: (Gale) Off-campus access login required Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
  • Health and psychosocial instruments: (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) provides information about behavioral measurement instruments, abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health and psychosocial sciences. Additionally, instruments from Industrial/Organizational Behavior and Education are included. Records provide information on questionnaires, interview schedules, vignettes/scenarios, coding schemes, rating and other scales, checklists, indexes, tests, projective techniques, and more.
  • Humanities & social sciences index retrospective, 1907-1984.: Off-campus access login required This database offers the ability to search a wide range of important journals in the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1907. Coverage also includes content from H.W. Wilson’s International Index. Combine this valuable resource with other Wilson databases such as Humanities Full Text and/or Social Sciences Full Text for a century of research in hundreds of journals.
  • IEEE Xplore: (IEEE) Off-campus access login required Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, IEEE and IEE journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and all current IEEE standards brings additional search and access features to IEEE/IEE electronic library users.
  • INSPEC: Off-campus access login required Inspec, produced by the Institution of Electrical Engineers, contains the world's scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering. The database contains scientific and technical journals, conference proceedings from 1969 to the present.
  • Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research: Off-campus access login required ICPSR is a serves member colleges and universities by providing access to a large archive of machine-readable social science data, training facilities in basic and advanced techniques of quantitative social analysis, and resources that facilitate the use of advanced computer technology by social scientists. The primary mission of the ICPSR Web site is to provide to the social science research community efficient search capabilities to facilitate quick and easy access to data.
  • Journal citation reports: Off-campus access login required The Journal citation reports is an essential, comprehensive, and unique resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 scholarly and technical journals worldwide. The Science edition contains data from roughly 5,000 journals in the areas of science and technology. To access Journal Citation Reports: from main Search Page, “Select a Database” tab then click on the Journal Citation Reports. (To access Journal Citation Reports: from main Search Page, “Select a Database” tab then click on the Journal Citation Reports.)
  • JSTOR (Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, IX, X and XI Collections): (JSTOR) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. WSU currently subscribes to the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VII, IX, X and XI Collections.
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe: (Lexis-Nexis) Off-campus access login required Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.
  • Library & information science abstracts: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Abstracts of the world's literature in librarianship, information science and related disciplines.
  • Library literature & information science full text: (Wilson) Off-campus access login required An online bibliographic database that indexes articles and book reviews of 102 key library and information science periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere. Includes coverage from Library Literature & Information Science Retrospective (1905-1983).
  • Library, information science & technology abstracts: (EbscoHost) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts,(LISTA) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
  • Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty LINGUISTICS AND LANGUAGE BEHAVIOR ABSTRACTS, LLBA (online) provides selective access to the world's literature on language and language behavior. Corresponds to the printed index of the same name.
  • MathSciNet: (AMS) Off-campus access login required Consists of reviews and citations to the world's research literature in mathematics and related areas compiled from Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications.
  • Medline: (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required MEDLINE provides information in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and pre-clinical sciences. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
  • Mental Measurements Yearbook: (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY), produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. The MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. The MMY database provides coverage from Volume 9 to the present.
  • Music index.: (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required Index of 725 international music periodicals from over 40 countries and in 23 languages. Covers all styles and genres of classical and popular music, sorted by subject and geographic location.
  • National Council of Teachers of English: Off-campus access login required The National Council of Teachers of English is devoted to improving the teaching and learning of English and the language arts at all levels of education. Since 1911, NCTE has provided a forum for the profession, an array of opportunities for teachers to continue their professional growth throughout their careers, and a framework for cooperation to deal with issues that affect the teaching of English.
  • OECD iLibrary: (SourceOECD) Off-campus access login required SourceOECD is the publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) and consists of sections that include Books and Reports by Theme, Periodicals, reference titles, and Statistical databases. To access SourceOECD users have to subscribe to the portal on an annual basis. OECD, based in Paris, France, is a forum permitting governments of industrialized democracies to study and formulate policies in all economic and social spheres.
  • OmniFile Full Text Select: (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required ArticleLinker enabled Wilson OmniFile Full Text Select is a multidisciplinary, full text article database, with accompanying indexing and abstracts. Content from over 3,000 publications is selectively compiled from numerous Wilson Full Text periodical databases including coverage for Art, Applied Science & Technology, Biological & Agricultural, Education, General Science, Humanities, Library Literature & Information Science, Readers' Guide, Social Sciences, Business Full Text and Index to Legal Periodicals & Books.
  • Partnership for Higher Education in Africa: This Web site contains information about the Partnership, the full text of publications sponsored by the Partnership, and links to other sites that we hope you will find useful.
  • Physical Education Index: (Proquest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Records are indexed and classified from peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, articles from the popular press, and many other publications. Coverage includes physical education curricula, sports medicine, dance, sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology.
  • Postsecondary Educational Institutions and Programs: The database lists approximately 6,900 postsecondary educational institutions and programs, each of which is accredited by an accrediting agency or state approval agency recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education as a reliable authority as to the quality of postsecondary education within the meaning of the Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended (HEA). Search by Institution or Accreditation Agency.
  • Project Muse: (Project Muse) Off-campus access login required A searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.
  • Proquest Multisearch: (Proquest) Off-campus access login required Searches multiple ProQuest databases (ABI Inform, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, National Newspaper Abstracts, ProQuest Nursing Journals, and Research Library) simultaneously.
  • PsycArticles: (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Provides full text access to articles from journals published by APA and allied organizations. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
  • PsycINFO: (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
  • Public Administration Abstracts: Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Public Administration Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to public administration, including public administration research, public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
  • Race Relations Abstracts: (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Race Relations Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
  • RILM abstracts of music literature: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Over 200,000 citations on international music corresponding to the printed RILM Abstracts of Music Literature. This file is produced by the Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale. It includes all data from the RILM printed year 1969 to the present.
  • Sage Journals Online: Off-campus access login required he SAGE Subject Collections are discipline-specific packages of the most popular peer-reviewed journals in Communication & Media Studies, Criminology, Education, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science & Engineering, Nursing & Public Health, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning published by SAGE and participating societies.
  • ScienceDirect: (Elsevier) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty A Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts and the full text of more than 1000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.
  • Scopus: (Elsevier) Off-campus access login required Scopus is the world's largest abstracts database of 13,450 titles from more than 4,000 international publishers with access to over 25 million abstracts (going back to 1966).
  • Social work abstracts: (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Social Work Abstracts database contains more than 26,000 records, spanning 1977 to the present, from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more.
  • Sociological Abstracts: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,809 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added since 1963 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
  • Test reviews online: (Buros Institute) Contains descriptions of over 20,000 tests and other measurement devices dating from the early 1900s to the present. Entries include availability information or information on the orginal publisher. The database is searchable by title, author, acronym, descriptor, corporation, year or call number. includes educational testing service (ETS).
  • Tests in Print: (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). Now a part of Mental Measurements Yearbook.
  • Urban studies abstracts: (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
  • Web of Science: (ISI) Off-campus access login required Online version of the ISI indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index from 1975-. A search can be limited to one index (i.e. Science Citation Index OR Social Science Citation Index).
  • Welcome to the National Center for Education Statistics: NCES is the primary federal entity collecting and analyzing education-related data for the United States and other nations. The NCES catalog can be searched to locate NCES publications and data products, many fulltext or available for download, including The Condition of Education, The Digest of Education Statistics, TIMSS (Third International Mathematics and Science Study) and the NAEP (Nation's Report Card).
  • WorldCat: (FirstSearch) Off-campus access login required Over 36 million records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 11th century.

More Resources

Shiffman Medical Library
Wayne State University
Mazurek Medical Education Commons
320 E. Canfield St.
Detroit, MI 48201
(313) 577-1094