Shiffman Medical Library

Article Databases

Engineering

  • ACM Digital Library: Off-campus access login required This site provides subscribers with access to ACM journals and magazines, as well as conference proceedings.
  • ACS Publications: Off-campus access login required This web page provides access to the electronic full-text of the over 30 titles published (or co-published) by ACS. Select either Journals and magazines or Search the journals to get to the list of titles available.
  • ASCE Publications: Off-campus access login required ASCE is the world's largest publisher of civil engineering information. Includes a searchable database and access to individual journal titles published by the American Society of Civil Engineers. It also includes new, author's guides, etc.
  • ASTM Digital Library: (ASTM) Off-campus access login required The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
  • Compendex: Off-campus access login required Compendex covers broad subject areas of engineering and applied science. Coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering.
  • Engineering Research Database: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty This database contains an index to world literature on technological and engineering innovations and includes US patents back to 1971.
  • Engineering village 2: Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Provides access to bibliographic databases of engineering research literature, including Compendex, as well as to patents, standards and handbooks.
  • ENGnetBASE: Off-campus access login required Consists of a compilation of essential engineering information, including data, facts, figures, graphs, equations, illustrations, and charts. It covers the disciplines of general engineering, structural engineering, mobile communications, remediation engineering, optomechanical engineering, measurement, instrumentation and sensors, communications, electrical engineering, mechanical engineering, technology management, digital signal processing, environmental engineering, and civil engineering.
  • GeoREF: (Proquest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Covering the geology of North America from 1785 and that of the rest of the world from 1933. Topics covered include geophysics and structural geology, economic geology, minerals and petroleum, palaeontology and stratigraphy, engineering and environmental geology, geomorphology, soils and quaternary geology, igneous and metamorphic petrology, hydrogeology, geochemistry, aerial geology and maps.
  • IEEE Xplore: (IEEE) Off-campus access login required Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, IEEE and IEE journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and all current IEEE standards brings additional search and access features to IEEE/IEE electronic library users.
  • INSPEC: Off-campus access login required Inspec, produced by the Institution of Electrical Engineers, contains the world's scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering. The database contains scientific and technical journals, conference proceedings from 1969 to the present.
  • IOP Science: (Institute of Physics) Off-campus access login required A platform for IOP-hosted journal content. It provides site-wide access to scientific, technical and medical content, and incorporates some of the most innovative technologies to enhance the user-experience.
  • Jane's Online: Off-campus access login required Jane's online includes access to titles published by Jane's Information Group. Titles are grouped into separate libraries . Access depends on individual institution subscription. For WSU access see quick guide for explanation and easy access to desired content. The magazine library is under the News analysis/subchannel.
  • Knovel Library: Off-campus access login required Knovel provides a one-stop e-book source for finding answers to science and engineering questions. Subject areas include chemistry and plastics, materials science, environmental science, microelectronics materials, electrical engineering, electronic engineering, chemical engineering, systems engineering, food sciences, and mechanical engineering.
  • National Transportation Library: The National Transportation Library provides timely access to the information that supports transportation policy, research, operations, and technology transfer activities. Resources in the NTL Digital Collection are primarily technical, research and policy documents provided by federal, state, local, tribal and other government agencies.
  • NTIS: Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty The NTIS database consists of unclassified U.S. government-sponsored research, development, and engineering reports. An increasing proportion of the database consists of unpublished material originating outside the U.S. from Western Europe and Japan. The database corresponds to several printed publications, including Government Reports Announcements & Index.
  • Optics InfoBase (Optical Society of America): Off-campus access login required Features the Optical Society of America (OSA) publications, the world's leading publisher of optics information, based in Washington, D.C.
  • PubMed@Wayne: (NLM) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty PubMed is a project developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH)--Overview. NLM's search service to access the 9 million citations in MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (with links to participating on-line journals), and other related databases --Home page.
  • SAE Digital Library: An easy-to-use information management system that puts thousands of full-text SAE Technical Documents only from 1998 forward at your fingertips via the web.
  • SciFinder: SciFinder provides access to CAplus, a database of chemical literature as well as U.S. and foreign chemical-related patents. It includes journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, and dissertations indexed in Chemical Abstracts since 1907. SciFinder also provides access to databases of chemical substances, chemical reactions, chemical suppliers and regulatory information. (WSU AccessID and email password login required)
  • Scopus: (Elsevier) Off-campus access login required Scopus is the world's largest abstracts database of 13,450 titles from more than 4,000 international publishers with access to over 25 million abstracts (going back to 1966).
  • SIAM journals online: (SIAM) Off-campus access login required Includes recently posted articles scheduled to appear in SIAM's print journals over the next one to two years. Articles are published in electronic versions approximately four months after acceptance.
  • SpringerLINK: (Springer) Off-campus access login required Provides full-text access to all 400 of Springer's journal titles as well as journals from other publishers. Subjects include life sciences, chemical sciences, environmental sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering, and economics.
  • United States Patent and Trademark Office. Patents Full-Text: (USPTO) United States issued patents and published patent applications available for searching and display from the U.S. Patent Office.
  • Web of Science: (ISI) Off-campus access login required Online version of the ISI indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index from 1975-. A search can be limited to one index (i.e. Science Citation Index OR Social Science Citation Index).

More Resources

Shiffman Medical Library
Wayne State University
Mazurek Medical Education Commons
320 E. Canfield St.
Detroit, MI 48201
(313) 577-1094