Shiffman Medical Library
Article Databases
Language and Literature
Sub Categories:
-
America: history and life:
(EbscoHost)
Online version of: America: history and life. Includes full-text of hundreds of journals originally published in paper.
-
American periodicals series online, 1740-1900:
(ProQuest)
Consists of digitized reproductions of more than 1,100 eighteenth and nineteenth century newspapers and periodicals in the original microfilm reproduction series, American periodical series, I, II, and III. When completed in 2003, this database will have more than 7,000,000 pages of full text periodicals.
-
Arts & humanities citation index:
(ISI)
Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
-
British humanities index:
(ProQuest)
An international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities.
-
Communication and Mass Media Complete:
(EbscoHost)
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for over 390 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of 200 more, for a combined coverage of nearly 600 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for 285 journals.
-
Dissertations and theses - full text:
(ProQuest)
With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. UMI offers over 1.8 million titles for purchase in microfilm or paper formats. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download.
-
Early English Books Online:
(Proquest)
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
-
Ebrary:
eBrary is a collection of thousands of online full text books and other materials in a variety of subject areas.
-
Ebscohost eBook Collection:
(Ebscohost)
A searchable collection of electronic books.
-
Eighteenth Century Collections Online:
(Gale)
Consisting of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas on The American Revolution, The French Revolution and The Industrial Revolution.
-
Humanities & social sciences index retrospective, 1907-1984.:
This database offers the ability to search a wide range of important journals in the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1907. Coverage also includes content from H.W. Wilson’s International Index. Combine this valuable resource with other Wilson databases such as Humanities Full Text and/or Social Sciences Full Text for a century of research in hundreds of journals.
-
Iter bibliography:
Iter's bibliography includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).
-
JSTOR (Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, IX, X and XI Collections):
(JSTOR)
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. WSU currently subscribes to the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VII, IX, X and XI Collections.
-
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts:
(ProQuest)
LINGUISTICS AND LANGUAGE BEHAVIOR ABSTRACTS, LLBA (online) provides selective access to the world's literature on language and language behavior. Corresponds to the printed index of the same name.
-
Literature resource center:
(Gale)
Includes links to: Dictionary of literary biography, Contemporary authors, Contemporary literary criticism, Twayne's author series, Scribner's writer series (the latter featuring more the 1500 biocritical essays on authors of all nationalities and time periods), and more.
-
MLA bibliography:
(ProQuest)
MLA BIBLIOGRAPHY (online) is the largest and most comprehensive database covering current scholarship in the modern languages, literatures, and folklore. MLA BIBLIOGRAPHY (online) corresponds to the printed annual bibliography of the Modern Language Association.
-
Oxford English Dictionary:
(Oxford University Press)
Electronic version of: Oxford English dictionary, 2nd ed., New York: Oxford University Press, 1989.
-
Oxford reference online. Premium:
(Oxford University Press)
Multi-part database of the online versions of seminal Oxford University Press texts. Main screen contains quick search capability. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published.
(Access is Limited to 5 concurrent users. Try back in a few minutes if you cannot access this resource immediately.)
-
Project Muse:
(Project Muse)
A searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.
-
ProQuest Research Library:
(ProQuest)
Includes citations and articles - many full text - on a broad range of topics including arts, business, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests from a mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
-
Scribner Writers Online:
(Gale)
Scribner Writers Online includes 15-20 page signed essays on more than 1,600 authors and literary genres drawn from 13 acclaimed Scribner print series.
-
Twayne's Writers Online:
(Gale)
Twayne's Writers Online contains the full text of 200 frequently used Twayne Literary Masters books on individual World, US, or English authors, for a total of 600 individual full-text titles.
-
WorldCat:
(FirstSearch)
Over 36 million records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 11th century.
More Resources