Shiffman Medical Library

Article Databases

Law

  • ArticleFirst: (FirstSearch) Off-campus access login required Contains bibliographic citations that describe items listed on the table of contents pages of more than 13,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.
  • Bloomberg BNA: Off-campus access login required Presents the Bureau of National Affairs, Inc. (BNA), based in Washington, D.C. Posts contact information via mailing address, toll-free telephone number, fax number, and e-mail. BNA is a publisher of print and electronic news and information. Contains daily news stories. Discusses customer support services and the company's subsidiaries. Offers information on BNA's business products, health care products, human resources products, legal products, and tax products. (Available only in the Law School and Library or remotely to Law School students, faculty and staff.)
  • CALI: Collection of interactive, computer-based lessons covering numerous legal education subject areas. Designed to augment tradition law school education. (Access restricted to the law school faculty and law students. See reference desk for access.)
  • CCH Intelliconnect: Off-campus access login required A comprehensive source providing accounting, tax, business, intellectual property, estate planning, health care, labor and employment, government contracting and securities law and analysis. Federal and state legislative, statutory, regulatory and case law and analytical materials such as treatises and news as well as authoritative explanations from the editorial staff are available. Research, customization, news tracking, citation and practice tools are also available via this service.
  • Chronicle of Higher Education: Off-campus access login required The Chronicle of Higher Education is the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators. The Chronicle's Web site features the complete contents of the latest issue daily news and advice columns, current job listings, articles published since September 1989, discussion forums and career-building tools such as an online CV's, salary databases, and more.
  • Code of Federal Regulations: (GPO Access) The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. Each volume of the CFR is updated once each calendar year and is issued on a quarterly basis.
  • Columbia International Affairs Online: (CIAO) Off-campus access login required CIAO includes original case studies written by leading international affairs experts, course packs of background readings for history and political science classes, and special features like the analysis of a bin Laden recruitment tape with video. (ILL Allowed. Print or Electronic copies.)
  • Congressional Publications: (Proquest) Off-campus access login required U.S. legislative information including hearings, reports, prints and documents and the CIS Legislative Histories from Congressional Information Service. Provides the option to limit searches to the Congressional Record or the U.S. Serial Set.
  • CQ public affairs collection: Off-campus access login required The CQ Public Affairs Collection is a database that brings together information on current affairs. Organized by 22 key public affairs subject headings, the CQ Public Affairs Collection features reports on vital issues, statistical and historical analysis, historic documents and primary source materials. There is also a directory of key government, nonprofit, and private organizations in each of the major policy areas.
  • CQ Researcher: Off-campus access login required The CQ Library is a subscription-only service that provides Web access to CQ weekly and the CQ researcher.
  • Ebrary: Off-campus access login required eBrary is a collection of thousands of online full text books and other materials in a variety of subject areas.
  • Ebscohost eBook Collection: (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required A searchable collection of electronic books.
  • EISIL (Electronic Information System for International Law): EISIL is a free internet database created and maintained by the American Society of International Law. EISIL is a reference tool which educates the user on how to locate International Law sources on the web. It is designed to help researchers, students, faculty, attorneys, librarians and others to understand the scope of international law in today’s world, and to find the most important instruments that govern each topic.
  • Environmental Law Reporter: Off-campus access login required Covers State, Federal and International environmental law topics. Provides information about environmental litigation, pending litigation, news & analysis, administrative materials, and statutes.
  • Federal Judicial Center: The FJC is the research and educational support agency for the U.S. courts. Accessible materials include biographies of federal judges (past and present), histories of the various courts, historic courthouses and landmark judicial legislation. Educational materials (e-discovery, capital cases and resources on special masters), selected full text publications and links to the U.S. Supreme Court and U.S. Sentencing Commission as well as the federal judiciary homepage are also provided.
  • FirstSearch (All FirstSearch databases): (FirstSearch) Off-campus access login required Comprehensive parent database of databases. Enables the user to search nearly any topic from academic and professional journals within each database. Choose any subject or topic to be searched once the database is chosen. Includes journal database (ECO).
  • Foreign Law Guide: (University of California) Off-campus access login required Current Sources of Codes and Basic Legislation in Jurisdictions of the World.
  • GPO monthly catalog: Off-campus access login required Consists of over 380,000 records published by the GPO since July 1976. Includes references to congressional committee reports and hearings, debates, documents from executive departments, and more. Updated monthly.
  • HeinOnline: Foreign & International Law Resources Database: Off-campus access login required FILRD provides access to international law (relationships between countries) publications including International Yearbooks and Serials, U.S. Law Digests, International Tribunals/Judicial Decisions and other significant works related to foreign and international law. Sources include the American Society of International Law, the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice, International Arbitral Awards as well as International Courts of Arbitration.
  • HeinOnline: Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals: (Hein) Off-campus access login required International legal information index with citations for articles and books reviews from legal periodicals, essay collections, festschrifts, and congress reports. Coverage from 1985 to present.
  • HeinOnline: U.S. Federal Legislative History Library: (Hein Online) Off-campus access login required The Legislative History Title Collection is a collection of full-text legislative histories on some of the most important and historically significant legislation of our time. In addition to major complete legislative histories this collection includes texts related to legislative histories. A legislative history is the collection of documents that are produced in Congress during the enactment of a law.
  • HeinOnline: U.S. Statutes at Large: (Hein Online) Off-campus access login required The United States Statutes at Large, commonly referred to as the Statutes at Large, is the official source for the laws and resolutions passed by the U.S. Congress. Publication began in 1845 by the private firm of Little, Brown and Company under authority granted by a joint resolution of Congress. In 1874, Congress transferred the authority to publish the Statutes at Large to the Government Printing Office, which has been responsible for producing the set since that time.
  • Index to legal periodicals: (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required International coverage and access to scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews, and more. This database contains materials from 1981 to the present. For earlier materials, see Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective. (Access restricted to the computers in the law library and law school.)
  • IndexMaster: Off-campus access login required A list of legal treatises, searchable within the title, indices and tables of contents. Users may view the actual tables of contents or index, as well as order the titles directly from the publisher. (Access restricted to the computers in the law library.) (Access restricted to the computers in the law library.)
  • International Bureau of Fiscal Documentation: Official organ of the International Fiscal Association, I.F.A. (Access restricted to the computers in the law library. See reference desk for access.)
  • JSTOR (Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, IX, X and XI Collections): (JSTOR) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. WSU currently subscribes to the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VII, IX, X and XI Collections.
  • Landmark Cases of the U.S. Supreme Court: This site was developed to provide teachers with a full range of resources and activities to support the teaching of landmark Supreme Court cases. While these activities are online, many of them can be adapted for use in a one-computer classroom or a classroom with no computer. The general teaching strategies include moot court, political cartoon analysis, continuum exercises, and Web site evaluation.
  • Legal scholarship network: (SSRN) Site offers a searchable database of published papers with abstracts and full bibliographic descriptions relating to research in various area of law. Articles can be downloaded in pdf format with an adobe acrobat reader. (Database freely searchable by all users access to e-mail alerts restricted to WSU law faculty see Reference Librarian for assistance.)
  • LegalTrac: (Gale) Off-campus access login required LegalTrac is the web-based version of the print Current Law Index. Access to major legal periodicals includes indexing (to help you identify relevant articles) for more than 1500 law reviews, legal newspapers and journals as well as over 250 full text titles. This source also contains law related articles from general and business publications. Updated daily and covering 1980 to the present, search templates include basic, subject guide, publication and advanced search methods.
  • LEXIS-NEXIS: (Lexis-Nexis) Provides access to various databases, including current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, etc. (Access restricted to law students & faculty only see Reference Librarian for assistance password required.)
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe: (Lexis-Nexis) Off-campus access login required Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.
  • LLMC digital: Off-campus access login required LLMC is a non-profit cooperative serving member libraries' needs for preservation, space recovery, and collection development on film and on-line. Its backfile of over 7,500 titles, some 90,000 volumes, comprises the world's largest collection of legal literature and government documents in microform. That backfile, and future filming of some 10,000 volumes per year, are available for on-line access on this web site. Full bibliographic data for titles already uploaded is provided here.
  • Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926: (Gale) Off-campus access login required Provides digital images of every page of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. Access may be limited to law library/school.
  • Making of modern law: U.S. Supreme Court records and briefs, 1832-1978: (Gale) Off-campus access login required U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978 is derived from two essential reference sources. For 1832-1915, the documents are based primarily on the holdings of the Jenkins Memorial Law Library, America's first law library, located in Philadelphia, PA. For 1915-1978 the source is the Library of the Association of the Bar of the City of New York, a nationally recognized research facility and the single largest member supported law library in the United States. Access may be limited to law library/school.
  • OECD iLibrary: (SourceOECD) Off-campus access login required SourceOECD is the publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) and consists of sections that include Books and Reports by Theme, Periodicals, reference titles, and Statistical databases. To access SourceOECD users have to subscribe to the portal on an annual basis. OECD, based in Paris, France, is a forum permitting governments of industrialized democracies to study and formulate policies in all economic and social spheres.
  • Oxford reference online. Premium: (Oxford University Press) Off-campus access login required Multi-part database of the online versions of seminal Oxford University Press texts. Main screen contains quick search capability. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published. (Access is Limited to 5 concurrent users. Try back in a few minutes if you cannot access this resource immediately.)
  • PACER (Public Access to Court Electronic Records): (U.S. Courts) (U.S. Courts) The PACER Service Center is the Federal Judiciary's gateway for electronic access to U.S. District, Bankruptcy, and Appellate court records. Michigan courts accessible through PACER include the US Court of Appeals Sixth Circuit, Eastern District Court, Western District Court, Eastern Bankruptcy Court, and the Western Bankruptcy Court. (See reference desk for access. Law students and Faculty can obtain PACER access via Bloomberg Law.) (Access restricted to the computers in the law library. See reference desk for access.)
  • PAIS International: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Formerly PAIS Decade, this database provides indexing and abstracting of articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs.
  • Project Muse: (Project Muse) Off-campus access login required A searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.
  • RIA Checkpoint: Off-campus access login required A comprehensive source for United States financial and tax research. Federal and state legislative, statutory, regulatory and case law and analytical materials as well as authoritative explanations from the editorial staff are available. Tax planning and compliance materials include pension & benefits, estate planning, payroll, accounting, audit and corporate finance. The RIA Citator 2d and Warren Gorham & Lamont tax journals are also included in this database.
  • Shepard's Citations: Off-campus access login required Shepard's Citations Service is a comprehensive citator used to validate the law and determine the status of an appellate case. Public access is available via LexisNexis Academic Universe by selecting 'US Legal' on the left hand portion of the screen. The Shepard's report may provide alternate citations, prior and subsequent case history, citing decisions and other sources as well as editorial treatment. Only case law is covered in LexisNexis Academic Universe.
  • USA.gov: USA.gov is a virtual system that allows Internet users to search millions of U.S. Government web pages without having to know where that information lives. USA.gov allows people to navigate through government web pages using topic listings, key word(s) searches, or by clicking to executive, legislative, and judicial sites. It contains links to state and local government web pages. USA.gov also provides a means for people to give feedback to agencies and to USA.gov itself.
  • Welcome to the United Nations: The United Nations (U.N.) is an international agency headquartered in New York City that provides peacekeeping and humanitarian assistance worldwide. The U.N. consists of 30 affiliated organizations, known together as the U.N. system. The U.N. outlines its organizational structure, lists its member states, and highlights its publications.
  • Westlaw: Westlaw provides access to a comprehensive collection of primary and secondary legal research materials that includes federal, state, and limited foreign case law, court rules, statutory and regulatory materials, digests, reference publications, and full text legal periodicals, newsletters, newspapers, and publications. Includes access to Westlaw Classic and Westlaw Next. (Westlaw Academic Access restricted to the law students and faculty only. Please see Reference Librarian for assistance. Public access Westlaw terminals are available for use in the Law Library. See circulation desk for assistance.) (Access restricted to the law students and faculty only. Please see Reference Librarian for assistance. Password required)
  • Westlaw (Public Access): (Westlaw) Westlaw database public access (Access restricted to three computers in the law library. See reference desk for access.)
  • WorldCat: (FirstSearch) Off-campus access login required Over 36 million records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 11th century.
  • WorldTradeLaw.net: A searchable database containing information which provides detailed summaries and commentaries on WTO Panel and Appellate Body Reports. Each document provides a basic summary of the panel's or Appellate Body's legal findings and conclusions, a timeline, references to other reports and materials, and expert analysis on many of the key issues in the report. There is also access to the full text of the Panel and Appellate Reports. (Access restricted to the computers in the law library and law school. See reference desk for access.)
  • WTO Reporter: Off-campus access login required the only daily news publication providing targeted, timely coverage of the activities of the World Trade Organization in Geneva. (Available only in the Law School and Library or remotely to Law School students, faculty and staff.)

More Resources

Shiffman Medical Library
Wayne State University
Mazurek Medical Education Commons
320 E. Canfield St.
Detroit, MI 48201
(313) 577-1094