Shiffman Medical Library

Article Databases

Health & Medicine

  • AccessMedicine: Off-campus access login required A repository of medical knowledge from internal medicine, cardiology, genetics, pharmacy, diagnosis and management, basic sciences, patient care, and more. Continuously expanding, all databases in the repository contain the latest editions of selected medical titles.
  • AccessPharmacy: (AccessPharmacy) Off-campus access login required AccessPHARMACY: Users can search over 20 core curriculum textbooks, identify a core topic, or browse site by organ system. Case studies, care plans, self-assessments and NAPLEX review help students develop and track key skills providing critical feedback for students and teachers. Other features include information on clinical relevance and lab tests, comprehensive drug database, news & updates from Pharmacotherapy News Network (PNN) and Goodman & Gilmans Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics.
  • AccessSurgery: ( McGraw-Hill) Off-campus access login required McGraw-Hill's AccessSurgery.com is an integrated online resource that provides medical students, surgical residents, and practicing surgeons with quick answers to surgical inquiries from trusted sources. Organized around the ACGME's (Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education) mandate for a Core Curriculum, AccessSurgery delivers content in context.
  • ACP Pier: The physicians' information and education resource: (STATRef) Off-campus access login required PIER is evidence-based clinical guidance presented electronically in a unique layered and telegraphic format. It is designed for rapid access to clinical information at the point of care. PIER includes recommendations based on all levels of medical evidence including RCTs, cohort and observational studies, case reports, and expert opinion.
  • AGRICOLA: Accesses the National Agricultural Library's Online Public Access Catalog and Journal Article Citation Index (AGRICOLA).
  • AIDSinfo: AIDSinfo is a U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) project providing information on HIV/AIDS clinical trials and treatment. It is the result of merging two previous DHHS projects: The AIDS Clinical Trials Information Service (ACTIS) and the HIV/AIDS Treatment Information Service (ATIS). It is a central resource for current information on federally and privately funded clinical trials for AIDS patients and others infected with HIV.
  • Alcohol studies database: Provides access to a database of over 50,000 citations for journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and audio-visual materials.
  • AMA DoctorFinder: Site provides demographic and professional information on individual physicians in the United States and its possessions, including doctors of osteopathy or osteopathic medicine (DO).
  • American Osteopathic Association D.O. database: This database is an online reference source of membership information on the associationsĘĽ doctors of osteopathy.
  • American society for microbiology journals: Off-campus access login required Features information about journals published by the American Society for Microbiology (ASM). Explains that the journals cover the spectrum of microbiology. Offers subscription details for individual journals and outlines submissions requirements for prospective authors. Links to full-text versions of the journals.
  • Associations Unlimited: (Gale) Off-campus access login required Information about associations and professional societies, listings for nonprofit membership organizations of U.S. national, regional, state, and local, or international scope in addition to 144,000 listings of the Encyclopedia of associations (EA) series, nearly 300,000 additional nonprofit organizations have been added to this database.
  • Biological abstracts: (ISI) Off-campus access login required Contains bibliographical references with abstracts in English from life sciences research journals published worldwide.
  • BioMed Central: (Biomed Central) Off-campus access login required BioMed Central Ltd., an independent publisher in London, England, provides free access to biomedical research publications. These publications include biology and medicine journal articles, current reports, and meeting abstracts. BioMed Central offers information about current controlled trials, as well as topics in modern biology.
  • Books in print: (Bowker) Off-campus access login required Online database of bibliographic records. Indexes nearly 1.5 million titles currently in print, out of print (or soon to be published) from over 44, 000 North American publishers and distributors. Search by author, title, subject, ISBN, keyword, etc.
  • Cancer Information Service: Profiles the Cancer Information Service, which provides accurate, up-to-date information on cancer for patients and their families, health professionals, and the general public. Provides the Cancer Information Service's toll-free telephone number - 1-800-4-CANCER. The service offers information on the latest cancer treatments, clinical trials, tips on cancer detection and how to reduce risk of cancer, and community services for patients and their families.
  • Carcinogenic potency database: Widely used resource on the results of chronic long term animal cancer tests.
  • CCRIS--Chemical carcinogenesis research information system: Full-text information on carcinogenicity, mutagenicity, tumor promotion, and tumor inhibition test results of over 8000 chemicals. Searchable through TOXNET's Toxicology data search.
  • CDC National Prevention Information Network: A comprehensive information service for people working in the fields of HIV prevention, care, and support.
  • Cell: a molecular approach: A book that is designed to be an approachable and teachable text that on the subject of cell biology and the four major breakdowns of the topic.
  • ChemIDplus: ChemIDplus provides access to structure and nomenclature authority files used for the identification of chemical substance cited in National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases. The database contains over 349,000 chemical records, of which over 56,000 include chemical structures, and is searchable by name, synonym, CAS registry number, molecular formula, classification code, locator code, and structure.
  • CINAHL plus with full text: (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty CINAHL Plus with Full Text is a comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index – with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
  • Clinical Alerts: (NLM) NLM began offering clinical alert notices online in January 1991. Clinical alerts are provided to expedite the release of findings from the NIH-funded clinical trials where such release could significantly affect morbidity.
  • Clinical practice guidelines : Collection of clinical practice guidelines, quick reference guides for clinicians, and consumer versions that are in English and Spanish.
  • Clinical Trials.gov: Provides patients, family members, health care professionals, and members of the public easy access to information on clinical trials for a wide range of diseases and conditions.
  • ClinicalKey: (Elsevier) Off-campus access login required Full text access to select health science textbooks, journals, procedural videos, clinical practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts, and CME materials with particular emphasis on medicine and surgery.
  • Cochrane Library: (Wiley) Off-campus access login required Consists chiefly of 7 databases: Cochrane database of systematic reviews Database of abstracts of reviews of effectiveness (DARE) Cochrane central register of controlled trials (CENTRAL) Cochrane database of methodology reviews Cochrane methodology register Health technology assessment database (HTA) and NHS Economic evaluation database (NHS EED).
  • Comprehensive Cancer Information: An online source for cancer information, designed for patients and the public, health professionals, and basic researchers.
  • COS Pivot: Funding Opportunities: Off-campus access login required A comprehensive searchable database of funding information, with more than 25,000 records, representing over 400,000 funding opportunities worth over $33 billion.
  • COS Pivot: Profiles: Off-campus access login required Find available funds, grants, fellowships, and awards from all over the world.
  • DART: developmental and reproductive toxicology: DART/ETIC is a bibliographic database on the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) Toxicology Data Network (TOXNET). It covers teratology and other aspects of developmental and reproductive toxicology. It contains over 90,000 references to literature published since 1965.
  • Database of Genotypes and Phenotypes: Database of Genotype and Phenotype (dbGaP) archives and distributes data from genome wide association (GWA) studies which explore the association between specific genes (genotype information) and observable traits.
  • Dermatology image atlas: The purpose of this WWW site is to enable health care professionals, parents, and patients to access high quality dermatology images for teaching purposes.
  • Dietary supplements labels database: (NLM) The Dietary Supplements Labels Database offers information about ingredients in more than two thousand selected brands of dietary supplements. It enables users to determine what ingredients are in specific brands and to compare ingredients in different brands. Information is also provided on the health benefits claimed by manufacturers.
  • Digital Commons @ Wayne State University: Off-campus access login required Digital Commons is a service of the Wayne State University libraries. It provides a repository for Wayne State University research and scholarly output selected and deposited by the individual university departments and centers, and includes the full-text of WSU theses and dissertations.
  • DIRLINE :: DIRLINE (Directory of Health organizations or Directory of information resources online) is the National Library of Medicine's online interactive database containing location and descriptive information about a wide variety of biomedically related information resources primarily from the United States, with some coverage of international organizations. Records contain resource names, addresses, phone numbers, and descriptions of services, publications, and holdings.
  • Dissertations and theses - full text: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. UMI offers over 1.8 million titles for purchase in microfilm or paper formats. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download.
  • DNA Patent Databases (DPD): This database, a joint project of Georgetown University's Kennedy Institute of Ethics and the Foundation for Genetic Medicine, allows free public access to the full text and analysis of all DNA patents issued by the United States Patent and Trademark Office (PTO). Users may conduct boolean searches of the full text of the patents and of delimited fields.
  • Ebscohost eBook Collection: (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required A searchable collection of electronic books.
  • Entrez, the life sciences search engine: (NLM) Off-campus access login required Describes the Entrez Browser, an online database search engine for retrieving molecular biology-related citations and records from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) databases. Entrez accesses the molecular biology subset of the National Library of Medicine's database of biomedical articles proteins from worldwide databases and nucleotides from the NCBI GenBank. Includes search instructions and help files. Links to the NCBI home page and the GenBank Sequence Database home page. Accesses the Medline database.
  • Environmental contaminants encyclopedia: Environmental Contaminants Encyclopedia summarizes information about contamination that effect fish, wildlife, invertebrates, and other non-human living resources with an emphasis on environmental toxicology. Some human research is also included. It contains information on 118 topics, including 30 entries covering the oil products most commonly spilled into fresh and marine waters of the U.S., according to the EPA, and 63 entries covering other oil-related topics.
  • Environmental Health and Toxicology: The Environmental Healthand Toxicology web site creates, organizes, and disseminates toxicology and environmental health information. The site includes links to databases such as TOXLINE and Haz-Map, special topics on current issues, consumer health sites, and National Library of Medicine resources.
  • Environmental health perspectives: Environmental Health Perspectives (EHP) is a monthly journal of peer-reviewed research and news on the impact of the environment on human health. EHP content is free online and available in print issues through paid subscription.
  • ERIC: (FirstSearch) Off-campus access login required Citations cover research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education.
  • Exam Master Online: (Exam Master Corporation) Off-campus access login required Create customized computer based exams that are presented in both a “Test” simulation mode and a “Study” review mode with correct answers and explanations accessible. Score reporting utilities provide immediate feedback and allow for targeted learning based on your test results. (User required to create an account to access.)
  • FirstSearch (All FirstSearch databases): (FirstSearch) Off-campus access login required Comprehensive parent database of databases. Enables the user to search nearly any topic from academic and professional journals within each database. Choose any subject or topic to be searched once the database is chosen. Includes journal database (ECO).
  • FREIDA online: FREIDA is a database containing information on approximately 7,500 graduate medical education programs accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) and 200 combined specialty programs.
  • Gene: (NLM) Gene integrates information from a wide range of species. A record may include nomenclature, Reference Sequences (RefSeqs), maps, pathways, variations, phenotypes, and links to genome-, phenotype-, and locus-specific resources worldwide.
  • GENE-TOX: Off-campus access login required Genetic toxicology from the scientific literature for over 3000 chemicals. Searchable through TOXNET's Toxicology data search.
  • Genetics home reference: The National Library of Medicine's web site for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes responsible for those conditions.
  • Harrison's online: Off-campus access login required Access current edition of Harrison's Online providing immediate access to the most widely used resource in clinical medicine and research. Updated daily, the fully searchable database includes the complete text, illustrations, and expanded features from the 15th edition of Harrison's. The fully searchable database regularly presents fully revised and updated content from the distinguished editors and Nobel Prize winning contributors.
  • Haz-Map: Haz-Map is an occupational toxicology database of occupational diseases and their symptoms that interrelates chemicals, jobs and diseases. The Haz-Map Jobs table is based on the 1997 Standard Occupational Classification (SOC) system. The Industries table is based on the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system. The Diseases table is based on the International Classification of Diseases (ICD-9). Information from relevant textbooks, journal articles, and electronic databases are included.
  • HazDat database: HazDat, the Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry's Hazardous Substance Release/Health Effects Database, and includes: site characteristics, activities and site events, contaminants found, contaminant media and maximum concentration levels, impact on population, community health concerns, ATSDR public health threat categorization & recommendations, environmental fate of hazardous substances, exposure routes, and physical hazards at the site/event.
  • Health & wellness resource center: (Gale) Off-campus access login required Provides full-text materials, abstracts, and citations to patient and consumer health information.
  • Health and psychosocial instruments: (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) provides information about behavioral measurement instruments, abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health and psychosocial sciences. Additionally, instruments from Industrial/Organizational Behavior and Education are included. Records provide information on questionnaires, interview schedules, vignettes/scenarios, coding schemes, rating and other scales, checklists, indexes, tests, projective techniques, and more.
  • Health reference center academic: (Gale) Off-campus access login required Provides both full-text materials and references to patient and consumer health information.
  • Health services and sciences research resources: HSRR contains information about research datasets and instruments/indices employed in health services research, and the behavioral and social sciences with links to PubMed and additional resources.
  • Healthfinder: Healthfinder is a gateway consumer health information Web site from the United States Government. This site, launched April 15, 1997, contains selected health and human services information resources such as online publications, clearinghouses, databases, Web sites, and support and self-help groups, as well as the government agencies and not-for-profit organizations that produce reliable information for the public.
  • HelpingPatients.org (Partnership for prescription assistance): The Partnership for Prescription Assistance brings together America’s pharmaceutical companies, doctors, patient advocacy organizations and civic groups to help low-income, uninsured patients get free or nearly free brand-name medicines. Through this site, PPARX offers a single point of access to more than 275 public and private patient assistance programs. including more than 150 programs offered by pharmaceutical companies.
  • Henry Stewart Talks: Off-campus access login required Henry Stewart Talks publishes animated audio visual presentations by world leading experts - advanced content in a user friendly format. Covering biomedicine and the life sciences. Every talk has been specially commissioned with informative visuals and synchronized narration.
  • HerbMed: HerbMed is an herbal database, hyperlinking directly to the scientific evidence on the use of herbs for health. The herb database is fully searchable and covers: evidence for activity, warnings and contraindications, methods of preparation and mechanisms of action. Free access to 45 herbs. (Free access to 45 herbs. Some links may request payment.)
  • HIV InSite: This site strives to provide fair and balanced representation of points of view on the many aspects of AIDS. HIV InSite is designed as a gateway to in-depth information about particular aspects of HIV/AIDS. Views, policies and recommendations contained within HIV InSite materials are not necessarily shared by all HIV InSite staff, editors or sponsoring or contributing organizations. HIV InSite provides links to specific evaluated information on AIDS related research and attendant policy issues. Site also features the new chapters of HIV InSite Knowledge Base, the comprehensive work on HIV research. The work has been a consummate source of authoritative AIDS-related knowledge. The scope of the textbook is wide and inclusive of topics of interest to those in all branches of AIDS and HIV research, medical treatment and patient care.
  • Household products database: This database links over 4,000 consumer brands to health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) provided by the manufacturers and allows scientists and consumers to research products based on chemical ingredients.
  • HSDB--Hazardous substances data bank: Information on toxicity, human exposure, industrial hygiene, emergency handling procedures, environmental fate, and regulatory requirements of over 4500 chemicals. Searchable through TOXNET's Toxicology data search.
  • HSTAT: Health Services/Technology Assessment Texts (HSTAT) is a free, electronic resource of full-text documents that provides health information and supports health-care decision making. It includes evidence-based reviews, guidance and research on methods from AHRQ; evidence reports sponsored by AHCPR; protocols from SAMHSA; recommendations from USPSTF; reports from NIH Consensus Development Program; and archived guidelines and reports. HSTAT was developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
  • Human genome resources: A challenge facing researchers today is that of piecing together and analyzing the plethora of data currently being generated through the Human Genome Project and scores of smaller projects. NCBI's Web site serves an an integrated, one-stop, genomic information infrastructure for biomedical researchers from around the world so that they may use these data in their research efforts.
  • Images from the History of Medicine: This database provides access to the images in the prints and photograph collection of the History of Medicine Division of the National Library of Medicine. The collection includes portraits, pictures of institutions, caricatures, genre scenes, and graphic art in a variety of media, illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine.
  • Index catalogue: The National Library of Medicine's digital version of the five series of the printed Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General's Office.
  • IRIS :: Contains data on over 500 chemicals in support of human health risk assessment
  • Journal citation reports: Off-campus access login required The Journal citation reports is an essential, comprehensive, and unique resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 scholarly and technical journals worldwide. The Science edition contains data from roughly 5,000 journals in the areas of science and technology. To access Journal Citation Reports: from main Search Page, “Select a Database” tab then click on the Journal Citation Reports. (To access Journal Citation Reports: from main Search Page, “Select a Database” tab then click on the Journal Citation Reports.)
  • Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology: Off-campus access login required The Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed.
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe: (Lexis-Nexis) Off-campus access login required Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.
  • Maternity and infant care: (Ovid) Off-campus access login required Maternity and Infant Care is a database from Midwives Information & Resource Service for healthcare professionals involved in the care of women and infants. The database contains references to journal articles, book chapters, reports, pamphlets, news items, audio visual materials, conference proceedings and ‘grey literature’ relating to the midwifery profession, pregnancy, labour, birth, postnatal care and neonatal care extending into the first year of life. Coverage is from 1973 to present.
  • MayoClinic: The Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research presents MayoClinic.com, an online health news resource, which has as its aim to help people find the answers and the support they need to manage illness and stay healthy. Topics covered include an index to diseases and conditions, drug information, first-aid, and questions and answers.
  • Medical Letter: Off-campus access login required The Medical Letter is intended specifically to meet the needs of the busy health care professional who wants unbiased, reliable and timely information on new drugs. Treatment guidelines is intended specifically to meet the needs of busy health care professionals who want unbiased, reliable information to help them keep up with the treatments of choice for major indications.
  • Medical subject headings.: (NLM) The MESH Browser is an online vocabulary look-up aid available for use with MESH (Medical subject headings). It is designed to help quickly locate descriptors of interest and to show the hierarchy in which desciptors of possible interest appear.
  • Medline: (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required MEDLINE provides information in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and pre-clinical sciences. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
  • MEDLINEplus: (NLM) An extensive guide to health information resources. Includes common diseases and conditions, dictionaries, organizations, clearinghouses, publications, directories, consumer health libraries, MEDLINE and other medical databases.
  • Mental Measurements Yearbook: (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY), produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. The MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. The MMY database provides coverage from Volume 9 to the present.
  • Merck Manual - Home Edition: Explains disorders, who is likely to get them, their symptoms, how they're diagnosed, how they might be prevented, and how they can be treated also provides information about prognosis.
  • Micromedex healthcare series: The wide range of evidence based information you expect from Micromedex is part of Thomson Healthcare Evidence. This includes all the unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative. Access restricted to Mazurek Education Commons Shiffman Medical Library, Nursing, and Applebaum buildings only.
  • National Center for Biotechnology Information: Describes the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), which is responsible for building, maintaining, and distributing GenBank, the NIH genetic sequence database that collects all known DNA sequences from scientists worldwide. Includes GenBank overview, Searching GenBank and other Databases, Anonymous FTP access, New BankIt -- Submitting Sequences to GenBank on the WWW, new NCBI overview, Staff Research and projects, Announcements, What's New, Usage Statistics, and E-mail.
  • National Center for Health Statistics: The NCHS is the Nation's principal health statistics agency. The NCHS is rich source of information about America 's health offering a feature called FASTATS (or fast statistics) for quick access to health statistics along with numerous other data tools. A unique public resource for health information-a critical element of public health and health policy.
  • National guideline clearinghouse: A comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents.
  • Natural Standard: Off-campus access login required Natural Standard is an evidence-based resource for complementary and alternative therapies, and integrative medicine. It contains databases: Foods, Herbs & Supplements, Health & Wellness, Comparative Effectiveness, Brand Names, Charts & Tables, Medical Conditions, Genomics & Proteomics, Environmental & Global Health; includes interactive tools. Validated rating scales evaluate the quality of available evidence. Comprehensive monographs are designed to facilitate clinical decision making.
  • NCI DIS 3D database: A database of 126,554 substances with 2D and 3D information compiled from the National Cancer Institute. Searchable through TOXNET's Toxicology data search.
  • NLM Drug Information Portal: (NLM) The NLM Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information from the National Library of Medicine and other key government agencies. Links to individual resources with potential drug information, including summaries tailored to various audiences. Resources include the NLM search systems useful in searching for a drug, NLM research resources, resources organized by audience and class, and other NIH and government resources such as FDA and CDC.
  • NLM gateway: (NLM) Off-campus access login required The NLM Gateway allows users to search in multiple retrieval systems at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). The current Gateway searches MEDLINE/PubMed. OLDMEDLINE, LOCATORplus, AIDS Meetings, HSR Meetings, HSR Proj., MEDLINEplus, and DIRLINE.
  • NLM LOCATORplus: (NLM) NLM's catalog of books, journals, and audiovisuals and access points to other medical research tools.
  • Online Mendelian inheritance in man: A catalog of human genes and genetic disorders.
  • OSHA Regulations: OSHA maintains this website of the 29 CFR standards. Word and phrase searching is available in these regulations. Also listed are links to parts of the regulations.
  • OVID Database Gateway: (Ovid) Off-campus access login required The OVID database gateway has access to Journals@OVID Full Text, HaPI, Mental Measurements Yearbook, Current Contents and more.
  • PLoS medicine: Off-campus access login required The journal provides an open-access venue for important, peer-reviewed advances in all disciplines. With the ultimate aim of improving human health, we encourage research and comment that address the global burden of disease.
  • Profiles in science: Contains the archival collections of prominent twentieth-century biomedical scientists donated to the National Library of Medicine, including published and unpublished materials (books, journals, manuscripts, photographs, audio tapes, and other audiovisual materials).
  • ProQuest Statistical Insight: (Lexis-Nexis) Off-campus access login required Provides abstracts and indexes of statistical information from over 100,000 U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and approximately 2000 documents from international organizations from 1983. Incorporates ASI subject and keyword searching. Full text or web links provided for some citations.
  • Protein: This database contains sequence data from translated coding regions of DNA sequences as well as protein sequences submitted to Protein Information Resource (PIR), SWISS-PROT, Protein Research Foundation (PRF), and Protein Data Bank (PDB).
  • PsycArticles: (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Provides full text access to articles from journals published by APA and allied organizations. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
  • PsycINFO: (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
  • PubMed Central: (NLM) Free online access to fulltext of life science research articles, provided by the U.S. National Institutes of Health.
  • PubMed@Wayne: (NLM) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty PubMed is a project developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH)--Overview. NLM's search service to access the 9 million citations in MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (with links to participating on-line journals), and other related databases --Home page.
  • ResearchConnect: ResearchConnect is a database of research profiles designed to promote collaboration and inter-disciplinary clinical and translational research at Wayne State University.
  • Science citation index: (ISI) Off-campus access login required An international interdisciplinary index to the literature of science.
  • Science.gov: Off-campus access login required Developed by an interagency working group of 18 scientific and technical information organizations from 14 federal government agencies, Science.gov provides a gateway to authoritative information resources at government science agencies, including research and development. Two major types of information included are selected authoritative science Web sites and databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials.
  • ScienceDirect: (Elsevier) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty A Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts and the full text of more than 1000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.
  • SciFinder: SciFinder provides access to CAplus, a database of chemical literature as well as U.S. and foreign chemical-related patents. It includes journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, and dissertations indexed in Chemical Abstracts since 1907. SciFinder also provides access to databases of chemical substances, chemical reactions, chemical suppliers and regulatory information. (WSU AccessID and email password login required)
  • STAT!Ref: Off-campus access login required Contains online version of over 30 medical textbooks and reference books.
  • Surveillance, epidemiology, and end results: The SEER Program collects cancer data on a routine basis from designated population-based cancer registries in various areas of the country. Trends in cancer incidence, mortality, and patient survival in the United States, as well as many other studies, are derived from this data bank.
  • Test reviews online: (Buros Institute) Contains descriptions of over 20,000 tests and other measurement devices dating from the early 1900s to the present. Entries include availability information or information on the orginal publisher. The database is searchable by title, author, acronym, descriptor, corporation, year or call number. includes educational testing service (ETS).
  • TestLink: Contains descriptions of over 20,000 tests and other measurement devices dating from the early 1900s to the present. Entries include availability information or information on the original publisher. The database is searchable by title, author, acronym, descriptor, corporation, year or call number. Includes Educational Testing Service (ETS).
  • Tests in Print: (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). Now a part of Mental Measurements Yearbook.
  • Toxics release inventory: The Toxics Release Inventory (TRI), a resource of the EPA, is a set of publicly available databases containing information on releases of specific toxic chemicals and their management as waste, as reported annually by U.S. industrial and federal facilities. TRI's data, beginning with the 1987 reporting year, covers air, water, land, and underground injection releases, as well as transfers to waste sites. TRI also includes data related to source reduction and recycling.
  • TOXLINE: TOXLINE is a bibliographic database covering the pharmaceutical, biochemical, psychological, toxicological, and environmental effects of chemical, biological, and physical agents. Includes citations (pre-1965-forward) from English language materials selected from toxicology, pharmacology, and biochemistry. Types of materials indexed: journal articles, monographs, technical reports, theses, letters, and meeting abstracts, papers and reports.
  • TOXNET: This free-of-charge search interface provides access to the TOXNET system of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas, including CCRIS, ChemlDplus, DART/ETIC, EMIC, GENE-TOX, HSDB, HSDB, structures, IRIS, NCI-3D, TOXLINE, TRI. TOXNET is sponsored by the National Library of Medicine, through the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program of its Specialized Information Services Division.
  • Tumor gene database: Search for the name of a gene, for words or phrases in the list of facts about a gene, or both.
  • Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory: Off-campus access login required Contains information on currently published as well as discontinued periodicals. Includes magazines, journals, newsletters, newspapers, conference proceedings, and electronic publications.
  • UptoDate Online: Off-campus access login required UpToDate is a comprehensive evidence-based clinical information resource composed of topic reviews which are written by physician authors. The topic reviews go through an extensive peer review process to ensure accuracy and reliability. UpToDate is designed to provide health care providers with concise, practical answers to medical questions at the point of care. Patrons are required to register for a personal account to use UpToDate. The account will become inactive if it is not used for 30 days.
  • USA.gov: USA.gov is a virtual system that allows Internet users to search millions of U.S. Government web pages without having to know where that information lives. USA.gov allows people to navigate through government web pages using topic listings, key word(s) searches, or by clicking to executive, legislative, and judicial sites. It contains links to state and local government web pages. USA.gov also provides a means for people to give feedback to agencies and to USA.gov itself.
  • Web of Science: (ISI) Off-campus access login required Online version of the ISI indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index from 1975-. A search can be limited to one index (i.e. Science Citation Index OR Social Science Citation Index).
  • WebWISER: Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders: Designed to assist First Responders in hazardous material incidents. Provides a wide range of information on hazardous substances, including substance identification support, physical characteristics, human health information, and containment and suppression guidance.
  • WorldCat: (FirstSearch) Off-campus access login required Over 36 million records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 11th century.

More Resources

Shiffman Medical Library
Wayne State University
Mazurek Medical Education Commons
320 E. Canfield St.
Detroit, MI 48201
(313) 577-1094