Shiffman Medical Library

Article Databases

Philosophy

  • Arts & humanities citation index: (ISI) Off-campus access login required Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
  • Ebscohost eBook Collection: (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required A searchable collection of electronic books.
  • Expanded academic ASAP: (Gale) Off-campus access login required Access to index of recent periodicals and some full-text articles.
  • JSTOR (Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, IX, X and XI Collections): (JSTOR) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. WSU currently subscribes to the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VII, IX, X and XI Collections.
  • Oxford reference online. Premium: (Oxford University Press) Off-campus access login required Multi-part database of the online versions of seminal Oxford University Press texts. Main screen contains quick search capability. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published. (Access is Limited to 5 concurrent users. Try back in a few minutes if you cannot access this resource immediately.)
  • Philosopher's Index: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Provides indexing and abstracts from books and over 270 journals on philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields published in the U.S. and the Western World. Coverage is from 1940 to the present for U.S. materials, and 1967 to the present for non-U.S. references.
  • Project Muse: (Project Muse) Off-campus access login required A searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.
  • ProQuest Research Library: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Includes citations and articles - many full text - on a broad range of topics including arts, business, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests from a mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
  • WorldCat: (FirstSearch) Off-campus access login required Over 36 million records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 11th century.

More Resources

Shiffman Medical Library
Wayne State University
Mazurek Medical Education Commons
320 E. Canfield St.
Detroit, MI 48201
(313) 577-1094