Shiffman Medical Library

Article Databases

Science, General

  • AGRICOLA: Accesses the National Agricultural Library's Online Public Access Catalog and Journal Article Citation Index (AGRICOLA).
  • ArticleFirst: (FirstSearch) Off-campus access login required Contains bibliographic citations that describe items listed on the table of contents pages of more than 13,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.
  • Biological abstracts: (ISI) Off-campus access login required Contains bibliographical references with abstracts in English from life sciences research journals published worldwide.
  • BioMed Central: (Biomed Central) Off-campus access login required BioMed Central Ltd., an independent publisher in London, England, provides free access to biomedical research publications. These publications include biology and medicine journal articles, current reports, and meeting abstracts. BioMed Central offers information about current controlled trials, as well as topics in modern biology.
  • Books in print: (Bowker) Off-campus access login required Online database of bibliographic records. Indexes nearly 1.5 million titles currently in print, out of print (or soon to be published) from over 44, 000 North American publishers and distributors. Search by author, title, subject, ISBN, keyword, etc.
  • Current research at Wayne State University: Off-campus access login required Contains citations and abstracts of dissertations and theses submitted by Wayne State University and published in UMI's dissertation abstracts database authorized users may download the full text of dissertations and theses.
  • Ebscohost eBook Collection: (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required A searchable collection of electronic books.
  • Engineering village 2: Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Provides access to bibliographic databases of engineering research literature, including Compendex, as well as to patents, standards and handbooks.
  • Expanded academic ASAP: (Gale) Off-campus access login required Access to index of recent periodicals and some full-text articles.
  • FirstSearch (All FirstSearch databases): (FirstSearch) Off-campus access login required Comprehensive parent database of databases. Enables the user to search nearly any topic from academic and professional journals within each database. Choose any subject or topic to be searched once the database is chosen. Includes journal database (ECO).
  • GPO monthly catalog: Off-campus access login required Consists of over 380,000 records published by the GPO since July 1976. Includes references to congressional committee reports and hearings, debates, documents from executive departments, and more. Updated monthly.
  • Health & wellness resource center: (Gale) Off-campus access login required Provides full-text materials, abstracts, and citations to patient and consumer health information.
  • Health reference center academic: (Gale) Off-campus access login required Provides both full-text materials and references to patient and consumer health information.
  • Journal citation reports: Off-campus access login required The Journal citation reports is an essential, comprehensive, and unique resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 scholarly and technical journals worldwide. The Science edition contains data from roughly 5,000 journals in the areas of science and technology. To access Journal Citation Reports: from main Search Page, “Select a Database” tab then click on the Journal Citation Reports. (To access Journal Citation Reports: from main Search Page, “Select a Database” tab then click on the Journal Citation Reports.)
  • Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology: Off-campus access login required The Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substancesincluding their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed.
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe: (Lexis-Nexis) Off-campus access login required Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.
  • MathSciNet: (AMS) Off-campus access login required Consists of reviews and citations to the world's research literature in mathematics and related areas compiled from Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications.
  • MEDLINE: (Firstsearch) Off-campus access login required MEDLINE provides information in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and pre-clinical sciences. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
  • Medline: (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required MEDLINE provides information in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and pre-clinical sciences. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
  • MEDLINEplus: (NLM) An extensive guide to health information resources. Includes common diseases and conditions, dictionaries, organizations, clearinghouses, publications, directories, consumer health libraries, MEDLINE and other medical databases.
  • NTIS: Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty The NTIS database consists of unclassified U.S. government-sponsored research, development, and engineering reports. An increasing proportion of the database consists of unpublished material originating outside the U.S. from Western Europe and Japan. The database corresponds to several printed publications, including Government Reports Announcements & Index.
  • Oxford reference online. Premium: (Oxford University Press) Off-campus access login required Multi-part database of the online versions of seminal Oxford University Press texts. Main screen contains quick search capability. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published. (Access is Limited to 5 concurrent users. Try back in a few minutes if you cannot access this resource immediately.)
  • ProQuest Research Library: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Includes citations and articles - many full text - on a broad range of topics including arts, business, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests from a mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
  • PsycINFO: (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
  • PubMed@Wayne: (NLM) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty PubMed is a project developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH)--Overview. NLM's search service to access the 9 million citations in MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (with links to participating on-line journals), and other related databases --Home page.
  • Science Careers: Off-campus access login required Science's Next Wave, the career development resource for scientists. Science's Next Wave is a weekly online publication that covers scientific training, career development, and the science job market. The Next Wave is published by SCIENCE magazine and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.
  • Science citation index: (ISI) Off-campus access login required An international interdisciplinary index to the literature of science.
  • Science.gov: Off-campus access login required Developed by an interagency working group of 18 scientific and technical information organizations from 14 federal government agencies, Science.gov provides a gateway to authoritative information resources at government science agencies, including research and development. Two major types of information included are selected authoritative science Web sites and databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials.
  • ScienceDirect: (Elsevier) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty A Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts and the full text of more than 1000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.
  • SciFinder: SciFinder provides access to CAplus, a database of chemical literature as well as U.S. and foreign chemical-related patents. It includes journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, and dissertations indexed in Chemical Abstracts since 1907. SciFinder also provides access to databases of chemical substances, chemical reactions, chemical suppliers and regulatory information. (WSU AccessID and email password login required)
  • STAT!Ref: Off-campus access login required Contains online version of over 30 medical textbooks and reference books.
  • Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory: Off-campus access login required Contains information on currently published as well as discontinued periodicals. Includes magazines, journals, newsletters, newspapers, conference proceedings, and electronic publications.
  • USA.gov: USA.gov is a virtual system that allows Internet users to search millions of U.S. Government web pages without having to know where that information lives. USA.gov allows people to navigate through government web pages using topic listings, key word(s) searches, or by clicking to executive, legislative, and judicial sites. It contains links to state and local government web pages. USA.gov also provides a means for people to give feedback to agencies and to USA.gov itself.
  • Web of Science: (ISI) Off-campus access login required Online version of the ISI indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index from 1975-. A search can be limited to one index (i.e. Science Citation Index OR Social Science Citation Index).
  • World Factbook: An annual publication by the Central Intelligence Agency of the United States with basic information about the various countries of the world. ,
  • WorldCat: (FirstSearch) Off-campus access login required Over 36 million records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 11th century.

More Resources

Shiffman Medical Library
Wayne State University
Mazurek Medical Education Commons
320 E. Canfield St.
Detroit, MI 48201
(313) 577-1094