Shiffman Medical Library
Article Databases
Social Work
-
Campbell Collaboration:
The Campbell Collaboration is an international research network that produces systematic reviews of the effects of social interventions. The Campbell Library of Systematic Reviews provides free online access to systematic reviews in the areas of education, criminal justice and social welfare.
-
Criminal Justice Periodicals:
(ProQuest)
With a focus on U.S. and international criminal justice journals, providing research support for students interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law and industrial security.
-
ERIC:
(FirstSearch)
Citations cover research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education.
-
ERIC:
(ProQuest)
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Both journals provide access to some 14,000 documents and over 20,000 journal articles per year.
-
Ethnic newswatch complete:
(ProQuest)
Full-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic and minority presses in the United States
-
General reference center gold:
(Gale)
Index with abstracts and many full-text articles from general interest magazines, newspapers, and encyclopedias.
-
Health and psychosocial instruments:
(Ebscohost)
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) provides information about behavioral measurement instruments, abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health and psychosocial sciences. Additionally, instruments from Industrial/Organizational Behavior and Education are included. Records provide information on questionnaires, interview schedules, vignettes/scenarios, coding schemes, rating and other scales, checklists, indexes, tests, projective techniques, and more.
-
Health reference center academic:
(Gale)
Provides both full-text materials and references to patient and consumer health information.
-
Left index.:
(Ebscohost)
The Left Index is a complete guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. It is a good place to find significant but little known sources of news and ideas. Historically significant early Left publications such as The People (est. NY 1891), and The Class Struggle (1931-1937) along with classic texts by Marx, Lenin, Trotsky, Engels and others, are also covered.
-
LegalTrac:
(Gale)
LegalTrac is the web-based version of the print Current Law Index. Access to major legal periodicals includes indexing (to help you identify relevant articles) for more than 1500 law reviews, legal newspapers and journals as well as over 250 full text titles. This source also contains law related articles from general and business publications. Updated daily and covering 1980 to the present, search templates include basic, subject guide, publication and advanced search methods.
-
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe:
(Lexis-Nexis)
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.
-
Maternity and infant care:
(Ovid)
Maternity and Infant Care is a database from Midwives Information & Resource Service for healthcare professionals involved in the care of women and infants. The database contains references to journal articles, book chapters, reports, pamphlets, news items, audio visual materials, conference proceedings and ‘grey literature’ relating to the midwifery profession, pregnancy, labour, birth, postnatal care and neonatal care extending into the first year of life. Coverage is from 1973 to present.
-
MEDLINE:
(Firstsearch)
MEDLINE provides information in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and pre-clinical sciences. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
-
Medline:
(Ebscohost)
MEDLINE provides information in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and pre-clinical sciences. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
-
New York times:
(Gale)
Covers international, national, business, New York regional news as well as sciences, medicine, arts, sports, and lifestyle news.
-
ProQuest Research Library:
(ProQuest)
Includes citations and articles - many full text - on a broad range of topics including arts, business, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests from a mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
-
PsycArticles:
(Ebscohost)
Provides full text access to articles from journals published by APA and allied organizations. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
-
PsycINFO:
(Ebscohost)
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
-
PubMed@Wayne:
(NLM)
PubMed is a project developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH)--Overview. NLM's search service to access the 9 million citations in MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (with links to participating on-line journals), and other related databases --Home page.
-
Social Services Abstracts:
(ProQuest)
Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,406 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
-
Social work abstracts:
(Ebscohost)
Social Work Abstracts database contains more than 26,000 records, spanning 1977 to the present, from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more.
-
Sociological Abstracts:
(ProQuest)
Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,809 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added since 1963 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
-
Web of Science:
(ISI)
Online version of the ISI indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index from 1975-. A search can be limited to one index (i.e. Science Citation Index OR Social Science Citation Index).
More Resources