Shiffman Medical Library

Article Databases

News & Newspapers

  • AP Images: Off-campus access login required The Photo Archive features state, regional and national photos from North America, as well as ... international photos all available moments after they move on the AP's spot picture system. An average of 800 photos a day feed into the Photo Archive, and remain there for a minimum of one year. Specially trained indexers select the best 200 or so photos each day to save for all time, while the remainder are eliminated from the Photo Archive after 12 months. (*delete your cache files* before entering the new site *For Mac Users* - AP Images is compatible with Mac OS 10 only (not 9.0) and you must have the latest version of Safari browser. It also works with FireFox browser for Mac.)
  • Chicago Tribune Historical Full-Text: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty The Chicago Tribune (1849-1986) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
  • Chicago Tribune.: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty The Chicago Tribune keeps readers informed of the latest news from the Chicago area, the nation and the world every day. The Tribune has a reputation for investigative and public service journalism earning 24 Pulitzer Prizes since 1932. Comprehensive coverage back to 1985.
  • Chronicle of Higher Education: Off-campus access login required The Chronicle of Higher Education is the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators. The Chronicle's Web site features the complete contents of the latest issue daily news and advice columns, current job listings, articles published since September 1989, discussion forums and career-building tools such as an online CV's, salary databases, and more.
  • Detroit free press: (Proquest) Off-campus access login required Full text of the Detroit Free Press.
  • Detroit legal news.: The Detroit Legal News provides editorial coverage of commerce, law, banking, real estate, investments, civil litigation, marketing, City and County government, and legal affairs. Also included are commercial news, public notices, court actions and a community calendar. (Access restricted to law library. See reference desk for access.)
  • Ethnic newswatch complete: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Full-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic and minority presses in the United States
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe: (Lexis-Nexis) Off-campus access login required Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.
  • Library Press Display: Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Over 250 same-day newspapers from 55 countries in their original format. Backfile includes last 60 days.
  • Los Angeles Times: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so you have access to not only top news stories but also detailed information on the arts, sports, business, and popular culture. Even such items as editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor from well know people are indexed.
  • Los Angeles Times Historical Full-Text: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty The Los Angeles Times (1881-1990) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
  • New York times: (Gale) Off-campus access login required Covers international, national, business, New York regional news as well as sciences, medicine, arts, sports, and lifestyle news.
  • New York Times: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Full-text coverage of the US newspaper of record. Offers superb coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts.
  • New York Times Historical Full-Text: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty The New York Times (1851-2006) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
  • TIME.com: Presents the online version of Time magazine, a weekly publication of Time Inc., located in New York City. Offers access to selected full-text articles from the current issue, as well as press releases. Includes daily news and special features. Many archival articles are Premium content and require subscription latest issue is free (numerous pop-ups and dancing ads).
  • Wall Street Journal (current): (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Access to current editions of the Wall Street Journal. 1984 to present. Pre-194 access is available from the Wall Street Journal Historical edition.
  • Wall Street Journal Historical Full-Text: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
  • Washington Post: The Washington Post is a recognized news organizations that is a diversified media company whose principal operations include newspaper and magazine publishing, television broadcasting, cable television systems, electronic information services, test preparation and educational and career services.
  • Washington Post: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Full-text coverage of the US newspaper of record. Offers superb coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts. Coverage of national, international, and local news. The Washington Post is renowned for its political reporting, editorials and columnists.
  • Washington Post Historical Full-Text: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty The Washington Post (1877-1997) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

More Resources

Shiffman Medical Library
Wayne State University
Mazurek Medical Education Commons
320 E. Canfield St.
Detroit, MI 48201
(313) 577-1094