Shiffman Medical Library

Article Databases

Business


Sub Categories:


  • American Bankruptcy Institute: With more than 11,000 members, the ABI is the largest multi-disciplinary, non-partisan organization dedicated to research and education on matters related to insolvency. Founded in 1982 to provide Congress and the public with unbiased analysis of bankruptcy issues, ABI is the premier professional organization in the field. Members include attorneys, accountants, auctioneers, judges, lenders, academics, turnaround specialists, credit professionals and many others. (Access restricted to the computers in the law library)
  • Bloomberg BNA: Off-campus access login required Presents the Bureau of National Affairs, Inc. (BNA), based in Washington, D.C. Posts contact information via mailing address, toll-free telephone number, fax number, and e-mail. BNA is a publisher of print and electronic news and information. Contains daily news stories. Discusses customer support services and the company's subsidiaries. Offers information on BNA's business products, health care products, human resources products, legal products, and tax products. (Available only in the Law School and Library or remotely to Law School students, faculty and staff.)
  • Books 24X7: Books 24x7 contains books, book summaries, research reports, and best practices on a variety of topics, including business, engineering, and technology.
  • Business knowledge research: Off-campus access login required Provides full-text research reports from the Conference Board on the latest issues in business management and on United States and global economics, covering topics such as business outlook, leadership decisions, performance excellence, corporate governance, human resource management, productivity, economic indicators and analysis/forecasts of regional, national, and international economic conditions.
  • Business Source Complete: (EbscoHost) Off-campus access login required With more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete is THE database for journal articles from all disciplines of business. Also includes additional full text content including financial data, books, conference proceedings, case studies, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
  • BusinessDecision: (Gale) Researchers and entrepreneurs are enabled to access comprehensive business-to-consumer market data. Detailed company profiles, product and brand information combined with investment reports, rankings and market share data allow users to better penetrate the consumer marketplace.
  • CCH Intelliconnect: Off-campus access login required A comprehensive source providing accounting, tax, business, intellectual property, estate planning, health care, labor and employment, government contracting and securities law and analysis. Federal and state legislative, statutory, regulatory and case law and analytical materials such as treatises and news as well as authoritative explanations from the editorial staff are available. Research, customization, news tracking, citation and practice tools are also available via this service.
  • Communication and Mass Media Complete: (EbscoHost) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Communication & Mass Media Complete provides quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for over 390 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of 200 more, for a combined coverage of nearly 600 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for 285 journals.
  • DemographicsNow: Business & People: (Gale) Researchers and entrepreneurs are provided with comprehensive business and demographic information valuable to assess business viability, create sales leads and marketing mailing lists, complete location analyses and business plans, analyze population trends, find potential sponsors and donors and much more. This versatile database is useful for those who want to start a business as well as those who want to take their established business to the next level. Michigan residents or Michigan library access only.
  • EbscoHost online databases: (EbscoHost) Off-campus access login required EbscoHOST provides access to over 15 full-text and bibliographic databases in the Nursing, Social Sciences and Humanities. EbscoHOST also provides access to Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in Print.
  • EconLit: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Comprehensive index to the world's economic literature (over 300 major economic journals) compiled by the American Economic Association
  • Engineering village 2: Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Provides access to bibliographic databases of engineering research literature, including Compendex, as well as to patents, standards and handbooks.
  • Gale business resources: (Gale) Off-campus access login required A research database that integrates Gale's business and industry reference works. It contains abstracts and references for business and management topics, including directory listings for over 467,000 U.S. and international companies and extensive essays for 1,100 industrial catagories, industry statistics, market share reports, and company rankings. In addition 4,000 company histories and 1,500 company chronologies are availalble for the most prominent businesses in the world.
  • General businessfile ASAP: (Gale) Off-campus access login required Business and management topics directory listings for over 150,000 companies investment analysis' reports on major companies and industries.
  • General Onefile: (Gale) Off-campus access login required A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily
  • Index to legal periodicals: (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required International coverage and access to scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews, and more. This database contains materials from 1981 to the present. For earlier materials, see Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective. (Access restricted to the computers in the law library and law school.)
  • JSTOR (Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, IX, X and XI Collections): (JSTOR) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. WSU currently subscribes to the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VII, IX, X and XI Collections.
  • LegalTrac: (Gale) Off-campus access login required LegalTrac is the web-based version of the print Current Law Index. Access to major legal periodicals includes indexing (to help you identify relevant articles) for more than 1500 law reviews, legal newspapers and journals as well as over 250 full text titles. This source also contains law related articles from general and business publications. Updated daily and covering 1980 to the present, search templates include basic, subject guide, publication and advanced search methods.
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe: (Lexis-Nexis) Off-campus access login required Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.
  • Mergent FIS Online: Off-campus access login required Fully searchable data on more than 10,000 companies on the NYSE, AMEX and Nasdaq exchanges.
  • National Bureau of Economic Research working paper series: Off-campus access login required Founded in 1920, the National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. The NBER is committed to undertaking and disseminating unbiased economic research among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community.
  • Philosopher's Index: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Provides indexing and abstracts from books and over 270 journals on philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields published in the U.S. and the Western World. Coverage is from 1940 to the present for U.S. materials, and 1967 to the present for non-U.S. references.
  • PsycINFO: (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
  • RIA Checkpoint: Off-campus access login required A comprehensive source for United States financial and tax research. Federal and state legislative, statutory, regulatory and case law and analytical materials as well as authoritative explanations from the editorial staff are available. Tax planning and compliance materials include pension & benefits, estate planning, payroll, accounting, audit and corporate finance. The RIA Citator 2d and Warren Gorham & Lamont tax journals are also included in this database.
  • ScienceDirect: (Elsevier) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty A Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts and the full text of more than 1000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.
  • Small Business Resource Center: (Gale) Learn how to start, finance or manage your small business. Resources include sample business plans, how to guides, articles and websites.
  • Sociological Abstracts: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,809 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added since 1963 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
  • USA Trade Online: Site provides access to approximately 3,000 statistical publications including economic and trade related records. (Partial access available at no charge Full access to this database available at Purdy Library, WSU Oakland Center Do not use the proxy server for access to this database For access from Shiffman Medical, Law, and Science and Engineering, please ask at the reference desk for assistance.)
  • USA.gov: USA.gov is a virtual system that allows Internet users to search millions of U.S. Government web pages without having to know where that information lives. USA.gov allows people to navigate through government web pages using topic listings, key word(s) searches, or by clicking to executive, legislative, and judicial sites. It contains links to state and local government web pages. USA.gov also provides a means for people to give feedback to agencies and to USA.gov itself.
  • Wall Street Journal (current): (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Access to current editions of the Wall Street Journal. 1984 to present. Pre-194 access is available from the Wall Street Journal Historical edition.
  • Wall Street Journal Historical Full-Text: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

More Resources

Shiffman Medical Library
Wayne State University
Mazurek Medical Education Commons
320 E. Canfield St.
Detroit, MI 48201
(313) 577-1094