Shiffman Medical Library
This web page provides access to the electronic full-text of the over 30 titles published (or co-published) by ACS. Select either Journals and magazines or Search the journals to get to the list of titles available.
Contains bibliographical references with abstracts in English from life sciences research journals published worldwide.
Compendex covers broad subject areas of engineering and applied science. Coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering.
Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology:
The Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed.
Knovel provides a one-stop e-book source for finding answers to science and engineering questions. Subject areas include chemistry and plastics, materials science, environmental science, microelectronics materials, electrical engineering, electronic engineering, chemical engineering, systems engineering, food sciences, and mechanical engineering.
National Center for Biotechnology Information:
Describes the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), which is responsible for building, maintaining, and distributing GenBank, the NIH genetic sequence database that collects all known DNA sequences from scientists worldwide. Includes GenBank overview, Searching GenBank and other Databases, Anonymous FTP access, New BankIt -- Submitting Sequences to GenBank on the WWW, new NCBI overview, Staff Research and projects, Announcements, What's New, Usage Statistics, and E-mail.
The NTIS database consists of unclassified U.S. government-sponsored research, development, and engineering reports. An increasing proportion of the database consists of unpublished material originating outside the U.S. from Western Europe and Japan. The database corresponds to several printed publications, including Government Reports Announcements & Index.
Polymers: a property database:
Polymers provides scientific and commercial information on polymers from primary literature via reference citations and though supplier details by providing trade names and commercial product information. Searches can be done by polymer, properties, trade name, application, and more. It provides tabulated displays of search results and polymer data as well as monomer data cross-referenced from the relevant polymers.
PubMed is a project developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH)--Overview. NLM's search service to access the 9 million citations in MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (with links to participating on-line journals), and other related databases --Home page.
Royal Society of Chemistry:
(Royal Society of Chemistry)
Includes news, contact and membership information, a conference diary, employment services, divisional activities, meetings, and career advice. Also includes books, projects, magazines, educational resources, and chemistry specialties. Links to the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC).
Science citation index:
An international interdisciplinary index to the literature of science.
A Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts and the full text of more than 1000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.
SciFinder provides access to CAplus, a database of chemical literature as well as U.S. and foreign chemical-related patents. It includes journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, and dissertations indexed in Chemical Abstracts since 1907. SciFinder also provides access to databases of chemical substances, chemical reactions, chemical suppliers and regulatory information.
(WSU AccessID and email password login required)
This free-of-charge search interface provides access to the TOXNET system of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas, including CCRIS, ChemlDplus, DART/ETIC, EMIC, GENE-TOX, HSDB, HSDB, structures, IRIS, NCI-3D, TOXLINE, TRI. TOXNET is sponsored by the National Library of Medicine, through the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program of its Specialized Information Services Division.
Web of Science:
Online version of the ISI indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index from 1975-. A search can be limited to one index (i.e. Science Citation Index OR Social Science Citation Index).