Shiffman Medical Library

Article Databases

Communication & Journalism

  • Academic Onefile: (Gale) Off-campus access login required Academic OneFile contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
  • American community survey: Provides estimates of housing, social, and economic characteristics. Issue for 1996 reports data from a limited number of sample sites sample sites will be increased every year until future issues report data for all states, as well as for cities, counties, metropolitan areas, and various population groups data presentation may be customized for viewing and saving.
  • American periodicals series online, 1740-1900: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Consists of digitized reproductions of more than 1,100 eighteenth and nineteenth century newspapers and periodicals in the original microfilm reproduction series, American periodical series, I, II, and III. When completed in 2003, this database will have more than 7,000,000 pages of full text periodicals.
  • AP Images: Off-campus access login required The Photo Archive features state, regional and national photos from North America, as well as ... international photos all available moments after they move on the AP's spot picture system. An average of 800 photos a day feed into the Photo Archive, and remain there for a minimum of one year. Specially trained indexers select the best 200 or so photos each day to save for all time, while the remainder are eliminated from the Photo Archive after 12 months. (*delete your cache files* before entering the new site *For Mac Users* - AP Images is compatible with Mac OS 10 only (not 9.0) and you must have the latest version of Safari browser. It also works with FireFox browser for Mac.)
  • ArticleFirst: (FirstSearch) Off-campus access login required Contains bibliographic citations that describe items listed on the table of contents pages of more than 13,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.
  • Arts & humanities citation index: (ISI) Off-campus access login required Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
  • Associations Unlimited: (Gale) Off-campus access login required Information about associations and professional societies, listings for nonprofit membership organizations of U.S. national, regional, state, and local, or international scope in addition to 144,000 listings of the Encyclopedia of associations (EA) series, nearly 300,000 additional nonprofit organizations have been added to this database.
  • Biography and genealogy master index: (Gale) Off-campus access login required Index to current and retrospective biographical reference sources for individuals from around the world in various fields of activity.
  • Biography in Context: (Gale) Off-campus access login required Biography in Context delivers research support with nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography. A resource that offers media-rich content in context that's updated daily. In it you'll find: 600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals.
  • Bloomberg BNA: Off-campus access login required Presents the Bureau of National Affairs, Inc. (BNA), based in Washington, D.C. Posts contact information via mailing address, toll-free telephone number, fax number, and e-mail. BNA is a publisher of print and electronic news and information. Contains daily news stories. Discusses customer support services and the company's subsidiaries. Offers information on BNA's business products, health care products, human resources products, legal products, and tax products. (Available only in the Law School and Library or remotely to Law School students, faculty and staff.)
  • Business Source Complete: (EbscoHost) Off-campus access login required With more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete is THE database for journal articles from all disciplines of business. Also includes additional full text content including financial data, books, conference proceedings, case studies, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
  • Communication and Mass Media Complete: (EbscoHost) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Communication & Mass Media Complete provides quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for over 390 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of 200 more, for a combined coverage of nearly 600 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for 285 journals.
  • CQ public affairs collection: Off-campus access login required The CQ Public Affairs Collection is a database that brings together information on current affairs. Organized by 22 key public affairs subject headings, the CQ Public Affairs Collection features reports on vital issues, statistical and historical analysis, historic documents and primary source materials. There is also a directory of key government, nonprofit, and private organizations in each of the major policy areas.
  • CQ Researcher: Off-campus access login required The CQ Library is a subscription-only service that provides Web access to CQ weekly and the CQ researcher.
  • Detroit free press: (Proquest) Off-campus access login required Full text of the Detroit Free Press.
  • Ebrary: Off-campus access login required eBrary is a collection of thousands of online full text books and other materials in a variety of subject areas.
  • Ebscohost eBook Collection: (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required A searchable collection of electronic books.
  • ERIC: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Both journals provide access to some 14,000 documents and over 20,000 journal articles per year.
  • Ethnic newswatch complete: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Full-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic and minority presses in the United States
  • Expanded academic ASAP: (Gale) Off-campus access login required Access to index of recent periodicals and some full-text articles.
  • FIAF international film archive database: (Ovid) Off-campus access login required Contains: International index to film periodicals, 1972- International index to television periodicals, 1979- List of periodicals indexed Treasures from the film archives International directory of film and TV documentation collections and Bibliography of FIAF members' publications.
  • FirstSearch (All FirstSearch databases): (FirstSearch) Off-campus access login required Comprehensive parent database of databases. Enables the user to search nearly any topic from academic and professional journals within each database. Choose any subject or topic to be searched once the database is chosen. Includes journal database (ECO).
  • Gale Opposing Viewpoints In Context: (Gale) Off-campus access login required Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
  • GaleNet: (Gale) Off-campus access login required Web site database providing access to a large variety of Gale reference publications.
  • Journal citation reports: Off-campus access login required The Journal citation reports is an essential, comprehensive, and unique resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 scholarly and technical journals worldwide. The Science edition contains data from roughly 5,000 journals in the areas of science and technology. To access Journal Citation Reports: from main Search Page, “Select a Database” tab then click on the Journal Citation Reports. (To access Journal Citation Reports: from main Search Page, “Select a Database” tab then click on the Journal Citation Reports.)
  • JSTOR (Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, IX, X and XI Collections): (JSTOR) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. WSU currently subscribes to the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VII, IX, X and XI Collections.
  • Left index.: (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required The Left Index is a complete guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. It is a good place to find significant but little known sources of news and ideas. Historically significant early Left publications such as The People (est. NY 1891), and The Class Struggle (1931-1937) along with classic texts by Marx, Lenin, Trotsky, Engels and others, are also covered.
  • LegalTrac: (Gale) Off-campus access login required LegalTrac is the web-based version of the print Current Law Index. Access to major legal periodicals includes indexing (to help you identify relevant articles) for more than 1500 law reviews, legal newspapers and journals as well as over 250 full text titles. This source also contains law related articles from general and business publications. Updated daily and covering 1980 to the present, search templates include basic, subject guide, publication and advanced search methods.
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe: (Lexis-Nexis) Off-campus access login required Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.
  • Library Press Display: Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Over 250 same-day newspapers from 55 countries in their original format. Backfile includes last 60 days.
  • MEDLINEplus: (NLM) An extensive guide to health information resources. Includes common diseases and conditions, dictionaries, organizations, clearinghouses, publications, directories, consumer health libraries, MEDLINE and other medical databases.
  • MLA bibliography: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty MLA BIBLIOGRAPHY (online) is the largest and most comprehensive database covering current scholarship in the modern languages, literatures, and folklore. MLA BIBLIOGRAPHY (online) corresponds to the printed annual bibliography of the Modern Language Association.
  • New York times: (Gale) Off-campus access login required Covers international, national, business, New York regional news as well as sciences, medicine, arts, sports, and lifestyle news.
  • New York Times Historical Full-Text: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty The New York Times (1851-2006) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
  • PAIS International: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Formerly PAIS Decade, this database provides indexing and abstracting of articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs.
  • Polling the nations: Off-campus access login required This is a compilation of questions and responses from more than 12,000 national, state, local and special surveys, conducted by 700 polling organizations in the United States and 70 other countries from 1986 through the present. Each record in the database consists of one poll question and the participants' responses. Records are indexed by subject matter, publication year, location, and survey method. Other information provided includes: source name and contact information, sample population.
  • Project Muse: (Project Muse) Off-campus access login required A searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.
  • ProQuest Research Library: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Includes citations and articles - many full text - on a broad range of topics including arts, business, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests from a mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
  • ScienceDirect: (Elsevier) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty A Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts and the full text of more than 1000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.
  • World Factbook: An annual publication by the Central Intelligence Agency of the United States with basic information about the various countries of the world. ,

More Resources

Shiffman Medical Library
Wayne State University
Mazurek Medical Education Commons
320 E. Canfield St.
Detroit, MI 48201
(313) 577-1094